Aarti Singh

Associate Professor

A. Nico Habermann Faculty Chair 2013-2016
Machine Learning Department
Carnegie Mellon University


Note for Prospective students: I can only advise students who have been admitted to the School of Computer Science at CMU. The admissions are decided by a separate committee. I cannot evaluate your chances of being admitted or working with me prior to the admissions committee decision. If you have been admitted to CMU and would like to work with me, please send me an email with your CV and briefly describe your research interests. I do not offer summer internships.

My group actively participates in the weekly Statistical Machine Learning Reading Group.

Current advisees

PhD students:

Yining Wang

Simon Du
co-advised with Barnabas Poczos

Yifan Wu

Yichong Xu
co-advised with Artur Dubrawski

Jayanth Koushik
co-advised with Mike Tarr

Ivan Stelmakh
co-advised with Nihar Shah

Masters students:

Vivek Nangia

Undergraduate students:

Hanqi Sun

Langxuan Su

Hariank Muthakana

Former advisees

PhD students:

Martin Azizyan
Thesis: High-Dimensional Analysis of Unsupervised Learning Problems

Aaditya Ramdas (co-advised with Larry Wasserman)
Postdoc @ UC Berkeley
Thesis: Computational and Statistical Advances in Testing and Learning
Best Thesis Award, Statistics Department, CMU

Akshay Krishnamurthy
Asst. Prof. @ UMass Amherst (Fall'16); Postdoc @ MSR NY
Thesis: Interactive Algorithms for Unsupervised Machine Learning

James Sharpnack
Asst. Prof. @ UC Davis; Postdoc @ UCSD
Thesis: Graph structured normal means inference

I have also worked closesly with Sivaraman Balakrishnan, Mladen Kolar, and Min Xu.

Masters students:

YJ Choe
(next: PhD student, joint Stat-ML - on leave)

Chiqun Zhang
(PhD student, CEE CMU)

Jayanth Koushik
(next: PhD student, PNC CMU)

Tianshu Ren
(next: Software Engineer, Facebook)

Undergraduate students:

Vivek Nangia
(next: Masters student, MLD CMU)

David Isenberg
(next: Data scientist, Litbit)

Jong Hyuk (Jay) Park
(next: Research assistant, CMU)
Yahoo! Undergraduate Research Award Runner-Up

Madeleine Clute
(next: Software engineer, Google)

Tongbo Huang
(next: Software engineer, Pinterest)


Gautam Dasarathy
Postdoc @ Rice