15-213/18-213/15-513: Intro to Computer Systems, Summer 2014

Date Lecture/Recitation Reading Problems Labs

Tue May 20 Administrivia 1
Wed May 21 Overview 1
Thu May 22 Bits, Bytes, Ints, 1 2.1-2.3 L1 (datalab) out
Thu May 22 Recitation 1: Datalab

Tue May 27 Bits, Bytes, Ints, 2 2.1-2.3 2.62, 2.67, 2.75, 2.82.62, 2.67, 2.75, 2.811
Wed May 28 Floating Point 2.4-2.5 2.86, 2.88, 2.89
Thu May 29 Machine Prog: Basics 3.1-3.5, 3.13.1-3.13.3 3.54
Thu May 29 Recitation 2: Data Representation

Mon Jun 2 L1 (datalab) due
Tue Jun 3 Machine Prog: Control 3.6, 3.13.4 3.59, 3.43 L2 (bomblab) out
Wed Jun 4 Machine Prog: Procedures 3.7
Thu Jun 5 Machine Prog: Data 3.8-3.9, 3.13.5
Recitation 3: Bomblab

Tue Jun 10 Machine Prog: Advanced 3.10-3.12, 3.14-3.15 3.66, 3.43 L2 (bomblab) due, L3 (buflab) out
Wed Jun 11 The Memory Hierarchy 5 5.3, 5.8
Thu Jun 12 Cache Memories 6.1-6.3 6.2, 6.3, 6.8
Recitation 4: Stacks and Buflab

Tue Jun 17 ECF: Exceptions & Processes 6.4-6.7 6.13-6.21 L3 (buflab) due, L4 (cachelab) out
Wed Jun 18 ECF: Signals & Nonlocal Jumps 8.1-8.4 8.2-8.4
Thu Jun 19 Linking 8.5-8.8 8.5-8.7, 8.10
Recitation 5: Memory and Cachelab

Tue Jun 24 System Level I/O 10 10.2, 10.3 L4 (cachelab) due, L5(tshlab) out
Thu Jun 26 Virtual Memory: Concepts 9.1-9.6
Recitation 6: Shell Lab AND Midterm Review

Tue Jul 1 Virtual Memory: Systems 9.7-9.8 9.14 Mid-term Exam (Mon-Wed)
Wed Jul 2 Dynamic Memory Allocation: Basic 9.9
Recitation 7: CANCELLED

Tue Jul 8 Dynamic Memory Allocation: Advanced 9.10-9.13 9.18 L5 (tshlab) due, L6 (malloclab) out
Thu Jul 10 Internetworking 11.1-11.3
Recitation 8: Virtual Memory and Malloclab (and tips)

Tue Jul 15 Network Programming 11.4 11.5
Tue Jul 17 Web Services 11.5-11.7 12.7, 12.13, 12.14
Recitation 9

Thu Jul 22 Concurrent Programming 12.1-12.3
Tue Jul 24 Synchronization: Basic 12.4, 12.5.1-3 12.4-12.6 L6 (malloclab) due, L7 (proxylab) out
Recitation 10

Thu Jul 29 Synchronization: Advanced 12.5.4-5, 12.7-8 12.7, 12.13, 12.14 Tue Jul 29
Thu Jul 31 Advanced/Special topic 12.6
Recitation 11

Tue Aug 5 Exam overview and Wrap-up 12.6
Wed Aug 6 Reading Day L7 (proxylab) due
Thu-Fri Aug 7-8 Final Exam (Thu-Fri)
Recitation 12 (Exam Prep)