Schedule

Jump to current week

Subject to change. Links will be added to homework and pre-reading when they are released.

Week Dates Event / Topics Quizzes / Homeworks / Practice
Week
#1
Mon 29-Aug
to
Fri 2-Sep
Getting Started  |  Getting Started with VSCode
Data Types and Operations
Variables and Functions
Conditionals
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
112-student-contract (due Wed 31-Aug, 11:59pm)
hw1 (due Sat 3-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice1 (due never)
pre-reading2 (due Fri 2-Sep at 8pm)
Week
#2
Mon 5-Sep
to
Fri 9-Sep
Loops
Style
Debugging
Code Tracing
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
quiz1a / quiz1b (on Tue 6-Sep)
hw2 (due Sat 10-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice2 (due never)
pre-reading3 (due Fri 9-Sep at 8pm)
Week
#3
Mon 12-Sep
to
Fri 16-Sep
Mon 12-Sept: Semester Course Add Deadline
Strings
Graphics (Tkinter)
Fri 16-Sep: Deadline to transfer to 15-110
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
quiz2a / quiz2b (on Tue 13-Sep)
hw3 (due Sat 17-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice3 (due never)
pre-reading4 (due Fri 16-Sep at 8pm)
Week
#4
Mon 19-Sep
to
Fri 23-Sep
1d Lists and Tuples
1d List Case Studies
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
quiz3a / quiz3b (on Tue 20-Sep)
hw4 (due Sat 24-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice4 (due never)
pre-reading5 (due Fri 23-Sep at 8pm)
Week
#5
Mon 26-Sep
to
Fri 30-Sep
2d Lists
2d List Case Studies
Animations Part 1: Events and MVC
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
Optional Exploratory: NumPy! 6pm-7pm Thu 29-Sep
quiz4a / quiz4b (on Tue 27-Sep)
hw5 (due Sat 1-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice5 (due never)
No pre-reading6 (just review Events and MVC notes)
Week
#6
Mon 3-Oct
to
Fri 7-Oct
Animations Part 2: Case Studies
Animations Part 3: Animations with Lists
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
Optional Exploratory: 3D graphics! 6pm-7pm Thu 6-Oct
Optional: 112 Puzzle Hunt! 1:30pm-4pm Sun 9-Oct
quiz5a / quiz5b (on Tue 4-Oct)
quiz5-starter.py (due Fri 7-Oct at 8pm)
hw6 (due Sat 8-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice6 (due never)
No pre-reading7
Week
#7
Mon 10-Oct
to
Fri 14-Oct
Mon 10-Oct: Semester Course Drop Deadline
Midterm Review (in-lecture Tuesday)
Thu 13-Oct: midterm1c / midterm1d
optional quiz6 (ungraded, due never)
No hw7
pre-reading8 (due Mon 24-Oct at 8pm)
Mon 17-Oct
to
Fri 21-Oct
Fall Break (No Classes)
Week
#8
Mon 24-Oct
to
Fri 28-Oct
Sets  |  Dictionaries  |  Efficiency
OOP Part 1: Using Objects and Writing Classes
Term Project Preview
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 handout: pdf (inked)
Fri 28-Oct: Tartan Community Day (No Classes)
pre-reading8 (due Mon 24-Oct at 8pm)
No quiz7
hw8 (due Sun 30-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice8 (due never)
pre-reading9 (due Mon 31-Oct at 9pm)
Week
#9
Mon 31-Oct
to
Fri 4-Nov
Recursion Part 1
Recursion Part 2
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
TA-led Mini-Lectures (Attend 1 or more of your choice)
Day Time Topic Room
Tues 11/1 5:00pm Large Project Planning + Version Control NSH 4305
9:00pm Game AI GHC 4405
Wed 11/2 5:00pm Databases NSH 4305
9:00pm Structuring Code/OOP NSH 4305
Thurs 11/3 5:00pm Machine Learning NSH 3305
6:00pm Data Analysis NSH 3305
7:00pm Maze Generation NSH 4305
8:00pm Advanced Tkinter NSH 4305
9:00pm VSCode Tips + Tricks NSH 4305
Friday 11/4 4:00pm UI and Art GHC 4215
5:00pm Webscraping GHC 4215
6:00pm Project Ideation (aka IDK what to do!) GHC 4215
6:00pm 3D Graphics NSH 4305
7:00pm NLP GHC 4215
8:00pm OpenCV/NumPy GHC 4215
9:00pm Multiplayer/Sockets GHC 4215
Optional Exploratory: Functional programming! 6pm-7pm Thu 3-Nov
Sat 5-Nov - Sun 6-Nov, Optional: Hack112!
pre-reading9 (due Mon 31-Oct at 9pm)
quiz8a / quiz8b (on Tue 1-Nov)
hw9 (due Sat 5-Nov at 8pm)
extra-practice9 (due never)
Week
#10
Mon 7-Nov
to
Fri 11-Nov
Term Project Assignment
OOP Part 2: Special Methods + Inheritance
Animations Part 4: More Events, Images, Sound, Modes, etc
TP Ideation Meetings (with TP Mentors)
Lec 2 slides (Tue): pdf (inked)
Lec 2 slides (Thu): pdf (inked)
pre-readingTP (due Tue 8-Nov at 10am)
pre-reading10 (due Tue 8-Nov at 10am)
quiz9a / quiz9b (on Tue 8-Nov)
TP decision form (due Wed 9-Nov at 5pm)
TP last day for tech demos (Sat 12-Nov)
hw10 (due Sat 12-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#11
Mon 14-Nov
to
Fri 18-Nov
Mon 14-Nov: Semester Course Withdraw + Pass/Fail Deadline
Midterm Review (in-lecture Tuesday)
Updated: Thurs 17-Nov: Midterm #2
No pre-reading11
No more quizzes or hw's
this semester
TP0 (due Mon 14-Nov at 5pm)
TP1 (due Sun 20-Nov at 5pm)
Week
#12
Mon 21-Nov
to
Fri 25-Nov
Building a project   |   Functions Redux
Wed 23-Nov to Fri 25-Nov: Thanksgiving (No Classes)
TP1 (due Sun 20-Nov at 5pm)
No pre-reading12
Week
#13
Mon 28-Nov
to
Fri 2-Dec
Monte Carlo Methods
NP-Completeness   |   The Halting Problem
No pre-reading13
TP2 (due Wed 30-Nov at 5pm)
Week
#14
Mon 5-Dec
to
Fri 9-Dec
User-Study-a-Thon!
Thu 8-Dec: TP Showcase   |   Programming for Social Good
Fri 9-Dec: Semester Drop Voucher Election Deadline
TP3 (due Wed 7-Dec at 5pm)
Finals
TBD sometime
Mon 12-Dec
to
Mon 19-Dec
Final Exam