CMU 15-112 Schedule
Fall 2018

Week Dates Event / Topics Quizzes / Homeworks / Practice
Week
#1
Mon 27-Aug
to
Fri 31-Aug
Getting Started
Data and Expressions
Functions
Conditionals
hw1 (due Sun 2-Sep at 5pm)
week1-practice (due never)
Week
#2
Mon 3-Sep
to
Fri 7-Sep
Loops
Debugging
Testing and Exceptions
Mon 3-Sep: No classes (Labor Day)
quiz1 (on Tue 4-Sep)
recitation2 (on Wed 5-Sep)
hw2 (due Sun 9-Sep at 5pm)
week2-practice (due never)
Week
#3
Mon 10-Sep
to
Fri 14-Sep
Strings
Algorithmic Thinking
Style
Mon 10-Sep: Add Deadline
Wed 12-Sep: Optional Lecture - Game Theory (Gabriel)
Fri 14-Sep: Deadline for transfer to 15-110
quiz2 (on Tue 11-Sep)
recitation3 (on Wed 12-Sep)
hw3 (due Sun 16-Sep at 5pm)
week3-practice (due never)
Week
#4
Mon 17-Sep
to
Fri 21-Sep
1D Lists and Tuples
Graphics
Wed 19-Sep: Optional Lecture - Programming for Social Good (Sanjna)
quiz3 (on Tue 18-Sep)
recitation4 (on Wed 19-Sep)
hw4 (due Sun 23-Sep at 5pm)
week4-practice (due never)
Week
#5
Mon 24-Sep
to
Fri 28-Sep
2D Lists
Animation Part 1: Event-Based Animation
Word Search Notes: Step-by-Step Explanation
Thursday Lecture Code
quiz4 (on Tue 25-Sep)
recitation5 (on Wed 26-Sep)
hw5 (due Sun 30-Sep at 5pm)
week5-practice (due never)
Week
#6
Mon 1-Oct
to
Fri 5-Oct
Animation Part 2: Time-Based Animations
Animation Demos
Sidescroller code (Lecture 2)
Wed 3-Oct: Optional Lecture - Data Structures (Chaya & Olly)
quiz5 (on Tue 2-Oct)
recitation6 (on Wed 3-Oct)
hw6 (due Sun 7-Oct at 5pm)
Week
#7
Mon 8-Oct
to
Fri 12-Oct
Midterm Review
Mon 8-Oct: Drop Deadline
Thu 11-Oct: Midterm #1
Week
#8
Mon 15-Oct
to
Fri 19-Oct
Sets
Dictionaries
Efficiency
Wed 17-Oct: Optional Lecture - Machine Learning [Part 1] (Previous TA Abhiram Gogate & Nghia Le)
Fri 19-Oct: No Classes (Midsemester Break)
recitation8 (on Wed 17-Oct)
hw8 (due Sun 21-Oct at 5pm)
week8-practice (due never)
Week
#9
Mon 22-Oct
to
Fri 26-Oct
Object-Oriented Programming (OOP)
Recursion (Getting Started)
Thu 25-Oct in Gates 4215: Optional Lecture - Machine Learning [Part 2] (Previous TA Abhiram Gogate & Nghia Le)
Fri 26-Oct: No Classes (Presidential Inauguration)
[POSTPONED] Sun 28-Oct: 15-112 Puzzle Hunt (Rashid)
quiz8 (on Tue 24-Oct)
recitation9 (on Wed 25-Oct)
hw9 (due Mon 29-Oct at 5pm)
week9-practice (due never)
Week
#10
Mon 29-Oct
to
Fri 2-Nov
Recursion
Thu 1-Nov Gates 4211 7-8:30pm: Optional Lecture - Computer Vision (Kusha)
quiz9 (on Tue 30-Oct)
recitation10 (on Wed 31-Oct)
hw10 (due Sun 4-Nov at 5pm)
Week
#11
Mon 5-Nov
to
Fri 9-Nov
OOPy Animation
Thursday Lecture 2 Code: flappyKim
Large Project Design and Documentation
Term Project Assignment
Tue 6-Nov: Withdrawal Deadline
Wed 7-Nov: Optional Lecture - Python in Industry (Raunak)
Fri 9-Nov 6pm - Sat 10-Nov 9pm: Hack112!

TP Mini-Lectures: Choose 1
DayTimeRoomTopicPresentersResources
Mon4:30pmWEH 5310 Computer Vision Fletcher, Kusha, Olly OpenCV Manual
Mini-Lecture materials
Mon5:30pmWEH 4709 3D Graphics Chaya, Gabriela Panda 3D Manual
Mini-Lecture materials
Mon6:30pmWEH 5302 Pygame Brent, Raunak Pygame Manual
Mini-Lecture slides
Tue4:30pmGHC 4102Hand Tracking with Leap Motion Jonathan Mini-Lecture materials
Tue5:30pm DH 2105 Multiplayer with Sockets Brandon Sockets Manual
Mini-Lecture materials
Tue7:30pmWEH 5320 User Experience and HCISanjna, Madeline (S18 TA) Mini-Lecture slides
Tue8:30pmWEH 5310 Chatbots Jacob, Zuhayer Mini-Lecture materials
Wed5:30pm DH A302 Body Tracking with Kinect Fletcher Mini-Lecture materials
Wed6:30pmWEH 5302 User Interfaces Jenny Mini-Lecture slides
Wed8:30pmWEH 5320 Audio Ambika, Ike PyAudio Manual
Mini-Lecture materials
Thu4:30pmWEH 4709 Creative Computing Jonathan Mini-Lecture slides
Thu5:30pm DH 2122 Graph Theory Ike, Katherine Mini-Lecture materials
Thu7:00pmWEH 5320 Machine Learning Kyle, Kyra Machine Learning Manual
Mini-Lecture materials
Thu8:30pmWEH 5310 Game AI Eric, Kyle, Sarah Mini-Lecture materials
Fri6:30pmWEH 5320 Data StructuresChristina, Eileen, Vishal Mini-Lecture slides
--- --- --- Additional Manuals --- Python Imaging Library (PIL)
Webscraping
Arduino

quiz10 (on Tue 6-Nov)
recitation11 (on Wed 7-Nov)
hw11 (due Fri 9-Nov 6pm)
Week
#12
Mon 12-Nov
to
Fri 16-Nov
Midterm Review
Thu 15-Nov: Midterm #2
Week
#13
Mon 19-Nov
to
Fri 23-Nov
Additional Topics
Wed 21-Nov - Fri 23-Nov: No Classes (Thanksgiving Break)
TP1 (due Tue 20-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#14
Mon 26-Nov
to
Fri 30-Nov
Additional Topics
TP2 (due Wed 28-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#15
Mon 3-Dec
to
Fri 7-Dec
Additional Topics
TP Last-Minute Office Hours
Thu 6-Dec at 7:30pm: Term Project Presentations (CUC McConomy)
TP3 (due Thu 6-Dec at 4:30pm)
Finals
Sun 16-Dec The final will occur Sunday December 16th 5:30pm-8:30pm
Location TBD.
Other
-- Monte Carlo Methods
Internet of Things
Limits of Computation
CS in the News
Functions Redux
Volunteering with Programming
Extra Topics
Machine Learning/AI (TBD)
Threading/Multiprocessing (TBD)
How the Internet Works (TBD)