SCS News & Press Releases 2020

June 2020

$escapedAlt

CMU Celebrates Picturephone’s 50th Anniversary By Recreating Historic First Call

City of Pittsburgh, Alcoa Join In Recognizing Legacy of Video Conferencing

By Virginia Alvino Young - Tuesday, June 30, 2020
$escapedAlt

Could Your Computer Please Be More Polite? Thank You

Carnegie Mellon Method Automatically Makes Requests More Polite

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, June 30, 2020
$escapedAlt

Analysis of Complex Geometric Models Made Simple

Monte Carlo Method Dispenses With Troublesome Meshes

By Byron Spice - Monday, June 29, 2020
$escapedAlt

Fifty Years Into "Picturephones," CMU Revamps Original Machine With Modern Twist

SCS Professor and Historian Team Up To Recreate First Commercial Video Call

By Virginia Alvino Young - Thursday, June 25, 2020
$escapedAlt

A Master of Transformations

Bryant Ready for Next Step: Retirement

By Byron Spice - Wednesday, June 24, 2020
$escapedAlt

Two CMU AI Projects Addressing COVID-19 Win Funding

SCS Proposals Are Among 26 Awards From C3.ai Digital Transformation Institute.

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, June 23, 2020
$escapedAlt

New Study Explores User Comfort With Privacy Assistants

By Daniel Tkacik - Friday, June 19, 2020
$escapedAlt

Schwartz Named Head of Computational Biology Department

By Byron Spice - Friday, June 19, 2020
$escapedAlt

Zazzle Uses MHCI Capstone Ideas To Create New Products

Online Marketplace Benefits From Collaboration With Student Teams

By Byron Spice - Thursday, June 18, 2020
$escapedAlt

CMU Method Makes More Data Available for Training Self-Driving Cars

Additional Data Boosts Accuracy of Tracking Other Cars, Pedestrians

By Byron Spice - Wednesday, June 17, 2020
$escapedAlt

Grenell Joins IPS as a Senior Fellow

By Bill Brink - Tuesday, June 16, 2020
$escapedAlt

Self-Driving Cars That Recognize Free Space Can Better Detect Objects

What a Perception System Doesn't See Can Help It Understand What It Sees

By Byron Spice - Thursday, June 11, 2020
$escapedAlt

Three SCS Faculty Members Named Wimmer Fellows

By Byron Spice - Monday, June 8, 2020
$escapedAlt

Perception of Privacy vs. Utility Key to Widespread Contact-Tracing App Adoption

CMU Researchers Find Users Prefer Centralized System

By Virginia Alvino Young - Friday, June 5, 2020
$escapedAlt

DARPA Names Sherry to ISAT Study Group

By Daniel Tkacik - Thursday, June 4, 2020
$escapedAlt

Carnegie Mellon Tool Automatically Turns Math Into Pictures

Visualizations Poised To Enrich Teaching, Scientific Communication

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, June 2, 2020