SCS News & Press Releases 2020

July 2020

$escapedAlt

Live-Streamed Game Collects Sounds To Help Train Home-Based Artificial Intelligence

CMU Researchers Use Twitch To Crowdsource Database of Home Sounds

By Virginia Alvino Young - Thursday, July 30, 2020
$escapedAlt

CMU Team Trains Autonomous Drones Using Cross-Modal Simulated Data

Researchers Break Down End-to-End Learning for Safe, Real-World Drone Deployment

By Virginia Alvino Young - Tuesday, July 28, 2020
$escapedAlt

Which Way to the Fridge? Common Sense Helps Robots Navigate

Carnegie Mellon's Winning Strategy Speeds Up Robotic Searches

By Byron Spice - Monday, July 20, 2020
$escapedAlt

What Mourning the "Death" of a Robot Looks Like on Social Media

People Use Similar Language to Describe Feelings for Animate and Inanimate Objects

By Virginia Alvino Young - Thursday, July 16, 2020
$escapedAlt

Transparent, Reflective Objects Now Within Grasp of Robots

Carnegie Mellon Researchers Teach Robots To Infer Shapes From Color Images

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, July 14, 2020
$escapedAlt

Video Game Teaches Productive Civil Discourse and Overcoming Tribalism

Carnegie Mellon Researcher Develops Instructional Tool To Combat Information Bubbles

By Virginia Alvino Young - Wednesday, July 8, 2020
$escapedAlt

Bonatti Receives Microsoft Research Dissertation Grant

By Byron Spice - Monday, July 6, 2020
$escapedAlt

CMU-Q Launches Virtual Computer Science Discovery Workshop

Mindcraft Virtual for High School Students Introduces Computing, Inspires Career Paths

Friday, July 3, 2020
$escapedAlt

Kaess Wins Inaugural RSS Test of Time Award

By Byron Spice - Thursday, July 2, 2020
$escapedAlt

New System Combines Smartphone Videos To Create 4D Visualizations

Carnegie Mellon Approach Requires Neither Studio nor Specialized Cameras

By Byron Spice - Wednesday, July 1, 2020