SCS News & Press Releases 2020

February 2020

$escapedAlt

Jaime Carbonell Pioneered Use of Computers for Translation

Distinguished Professor Founded CMU's Language Technologies Institute

By Byron Spice - Friday, February 28, 2020
$escapedAlt

Team Explorer Finishes Second in DARPA Competition

Urban Circuit Was Second of Four Events in Subterranean Challenge

By Byron Spice - Thursday, February 27, 2020
$escapedAlt

Shah Earns NSF CAREER Award

By Virginia Alvino Young - Friday, February 21, 2020
$escapedAlt

Leading AI Scholars Featured in New Oral Archive

Related Textbook, "AI and Humanity" Will Be Published Next Month

By Byron Spice - Thursday, February 20, 2020
$escapedAlt

Exploring a Genome's 3D Organization Through a Social Network Lens

DNA, Proteins Form Communities That Provide Insight Into Cellular Processes

By Byron Spice - Thursday, February 20, 2020
$escapedAlt

New Infrastructure Will Enhance Privacy in Today's Internet of Things

By Daniel Tkacik - Wednesday, February 19, 2020
$escapedAlt

Rose and Zimmerman Named AAAS Public Engagement Fellows

By Virginia Alvino Young - Tuesday, February 18, 2020
$escapedAlt

Carnegie Mellon Will Compete in Abu Dhabi Robotics Challenge

Robot Teams Tackle Tasks in Airport Security, Construction, Firefighting

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, February 18, 2020
$escapedAlt

Team Explorer Adds Capabilities for Latest DARPA Robotics Contest

Robots Negotiate Stairs, Fly Through Narrow Doorways, Bounce Off Obstacles

By Byron Spice - Thursday, February 13, 2020
$escapedAlt

Chouldechova and Zhu Awarded Research Grant on Fairness in Artificial Intelligence

By Virginia Alvino Young (SCS), Caitlin Kizielewicz (Heinz) - Wednesday, February 12, 2020
$escapedAlt

Ranysha Ware Awarded Prize for Work on Internet Fairness

By Virginia Alvino Young - Friday, February 7, 2020
$escapedAlt

New Software Agents Will Infer What Users Are Thinking

DARPA Project Aims To Use Machine Social Intelligence to Improve Teamwork

By Byron Spice - Wednesday, February 5, 2020
$escapedAlt

Asakawa Wins Helen Keller Achievement Award

By Byron Spice - Tuesday, February 4, 2020