15-486/782: Artificial Neural Networks
Dave Touretzky

Fall 2006 - Course Syllabus

Last modified: Fri Dec 1 04:18:23 EST 2006

Monday, August 28. Organizational meeting; introduction to neural nets. [pdf]

Wednesday, August 30. Perceptrons and the LMS Algorithm. [pdf]

Problem set 1: learning with linear units.

Monday, Sep. 4. No class. Labor day.

Wednesday, Sep. 6. Backpropagation Learning. [pdf]

Problem set 1 due.
Problem set 2: backpropagation learning.

Monday, Sep. 11. Visually-Guided Robot Control. [pdf] Note: class now meets in NSH 3002

Wednesday, Sep. 13. Optimization Techniques. [pdf]

Problem set 2 due.
Problem set 3: ALVINN.

Monday, Sep. 18. Overfitting, Cross-Validation, and Early Stopping. [pdf]

Wednesday, Sep. 20. Simple Recurrent Networks. [pdf]

Monday, Sep. 25. Language Processing Models. [pdf]

Wednesday, Sep. 27. Pattern Classification I. [pdf]

Problem set 3 due.

Monday, Oct. 2. Pattern Classification II. [pdf]

Wednesday, Oct. 4. Radial Basis Functions. [pdf]

Monday, Oct. 9. The EM (Expectation-Maximization) Algorithm. [pdf]

Wednesday, Oct. 11. Neural Networks for Control. [pdf]

Monday, Oct. 16. Support Vector Machines. [Guest lecturer: Mark Fuhs] [PowerPoint]

Wednesday, October 18. Midterm Exam.

Monday, Oct. 23. Time Series Prediction. [pdf]

Wednesday, Oct. 25. Shared Weight Networks.

Problem set 4: Robot arm control.

Monday, Oct. 30. Competitive Learning and Kohonen Nets. [pdf]

Wednesday, Nov. 1. Hebbian Learning and Principal Components Analysis. [pdf]

Problem set 4 due.

Monday, Nov. 6. Hopfield Nets and Boltzmann Machines. [pdf]

Problem set 5: Hopfield networks.

Wednesday, Nov. 8. Mean Field Approximation [pdf]

Monday, Nov. 13. Helmholtz Machines; Minimum Description Length. [pdf]

Problem set 5 due.

Wednesday, Nov. 15. Bayesian Networks. [pdf]

Monday, Nov. 20. Computational Learning Theory. [pdf]

Wednesday, Nov. 22. No class. Thanksgiving Holiday.

Monday, Nov. 27. Connectionist Symbol Processing. [pdf]

Wednesday, Nov. 29. Reinforcement Learning. [pdf]

Monday, Dec. 4. Neurophysiology for Computer Scientists. [Guest lecturer: Mark Fuhs]

Wednesday, Dec. 6. No class.

Tuesday, Dec. 12. Final exam, 1-4 pm, Wean Hall 5403.

Dave Touretzky