Carnegie Mellon
SCS logo
Computer Science Department
home
syllabus
staff
schedule
lecture
projects
homeworks
 
 

15-410 Schedule


Reading Assignments

This table is a guide to the expected reading sequence and approximate dates. You can use it to read ahead, which is an excellent idea.

Assignment OS:
P+P
OSC:
8th edition
OSC:
7th edition
OSC:
6th edition
2014-01-13
First wave
Chapter 1 (Intro) Chapter 1 (Intro) Chapter 1 (Intro)
Chapter 2 (Computer-System Structures)
Chapter 2 (The Kernel Abstraction) Chapter 2 (OS Structures) Chapter 3 (OS Structures)
Section 3.0 [Chapter Intro]
Section 3.5 (OS Structure)
Section 11.3
(Software Layers)
Chapter 13.1 (I/O Overview)
Chapter 13.2 (I/O Hardware)
Chapter 13.3 (I/O Interface)
2014-01-22
Second wave
Sections 3.1 (Process Management),
3.2 (I/O), 3.3 (Shell)
Chapter 3 (Process)
Skip: 3.4-3.5 (IPC), 3.6 (Client-Server)
Chapter 3 (Process)
Skip: 3.4 (IPC), 3.5 (Client-Server)
Chapter 4 (Process)
Skip: 4.5 (IPC), 4.6 (Client-Server)
Chapter 4
(Concurrency & Threads)
Chapter 4 (Threads) Chapter 5 (Threads)
Chapter 5 (Synchronization),
Section 3.4 (Producer/Consumer)
Chapter 6 (Synchronization)
Skip: 6.9 (Transactions)
Chapter 7 (Synchronization)
Skip: 7.9 (Transactions)
2014-01-29
Third wave
Chapter 6 (Advanced Synchronization) Chapter 6.5.3, 6.6.3 (Deadlock intro, assigned in Wave 2) Chapter 7.4.3, 7.5.3 (Deadlock intro, assigned in Wave 2)
Chapter 7 (Deadlock) Chapter 8 (Deadlock)
Chapter 8 (Address Translation) Chapter 8 (Main Memory) Chapter 9 (Memory Management)
Chapter 9 (Caching & VM) Chapter 9 (Virtual Memory) Chapter 10 (Virtual Memory)
Chapter 7 (Scheduling) Chapter 5 (Scheduling) Chapter 6 (Scheduling)
2014-02-28
Fourth wave
Chapter 12 (Storage Devices) Chapter 12 (Mass-Storage Structure) Chapter 14 (Mass-Storage Structure)
Chapter 11 (File System Intro) Chapter 10 (File-System Interface) Chapter 11 (File-System Interface)
Chapter 13 (Files & Directories) Chapter 11 (File-System Implementation) Chapter 12 (File-System Implementation)
2014-03-19
Fifth wave
(see lecture) Section 3.4-3.5 (IPC), 3.6 (Client-Server) Section 3.4 (IPC), 3.5 (Client-Server) Section 4.5 (IPC), 4.6 (Client-Server)
(see lecture) Chapter 14 (Protection) Chapter 18 (Protection)
(see lecture) Chapter 15 (Security) Chapter 19 (Security)
Web page: Designing an Authentication System (optional, but fun)
(see lecture) Chapter 17 (Distributed File Systems) Chapter 16 (Distributed File Systems)
Chapter 14 (Reliable Storage) (see lecture)

Important Dates

At present these dates are tentative. This is not an offer to buy or sell securities. Tax and title fee extra. Some restrictions apply. Void where prohibited by law.

Item Out Due
Project 0 January 15 (Wednesday) January 22 (Wednesday)
Project 1 January 24 (Friday) February 3 (Monday)
Book Report January 27 (Monday) May 2 (Friday)
Partner registration deadline January 31 (Friday)
Project 2 February 3 (Monday) February 17 (Monday)
Project 3 February 17 (Monday) April 7 (Monday)
Mid-term Exam (evening) February 24 (Monday) - evening
Project 3 Checkpoint 1 demo (in cluster: Wean 5207) February 28 (Friday)
Project 3 Checkpoint 2 demo (in cluster: Wean 5207) March 5 (Wednesday)
Spring Break March 7 (Friday) March 14 (Friday)
Mid-term Grades March 10 (Monday)
Project 3 due April 7 (Monday)
Project 3 overtime due date April 18 (Friday)
Project 4 April 14 (Monday) April 30 (Wednesday)
Project 3 Interviews April 28 (Monday) April 30 (Wednesday)
Project 4 due April 30 (Wednesday)
Book Report due May 2 (Friday)
Homework 2 due
Last day of class

Exam Conflicts

Mid-term exam

In order for us to choose a time slot for the mid-term exam, please fill out our exam date conflict registration form.

Final exam

You are responsible for checking the official CMU final exam schedule and immediately notifying instructors of all affected courses about any conflicts.


[Last modified Monday February 03, 2014]