Schedule

Week Dates Event / Topics Quizzes / Homeworks / Practice
Week
#1
Mon 15-Jan
to
Fri 19-Jan
Getting Started
Data, Expressions, and Variables
Functions
Conditionals
112-student-contract (due Wed 17-Jan)
hw1 (due Sat 20-Jan at 8pm)
Week
#2
Mon 22-Jan
to
Fri 26-Jan
Loops
Style
Debugging
Thu 25-Jan: Optional: How to Build a Computer (from Gates to CPU's) (David)
quiz1 (on Tue 23-Jan)
hw2 (due Sat 27-Jan at 8pm)
Week
#3
Mon 29-Jan
to
Fri 2-Feb
Mon 29-Jan: Semester Course Add Deadline
Strings
Intro to 112 Graphics
112 Style Guide
Thu 1-Feb: Optional: Gaussian Elimination + Power Sum Polynomials (David)
Fri 2-Feb: Deadline to transfer to 15-110
quiz2 (on Tue 30-Jan)
hw3 (due Sat 3-Feb at 8pm)
Week
#4
Mon 5-Feb
to
Fri 9-Feb
Animations
Thu 8-Feb: Optional: History of Computing (Mike)
quiz3 (on Tue 6-Feb)
hw4 (due Sat 10-Feb at 8pm)
Week
#5
Mon 12-Feb
to
Fri 16-Feb
Lists
Thu 15-Feb: Optional: Robotics (Mike)
quiz4 (on Tue 13-Feb)
quiz4 bonus (due Mon 19-Feb at 8pm)
hw5 (due Sat 17-Feb at 8pm)
Week
#6
Mon 19-Feb
to
Fri 23-Feb
Midterm Review (in-lecture Tuesday)
Thu 22-Feb: midterm1
No quiz5
No hw6
Week
#7
Mon 26-Feb
to
Fri 1-Mar
Mon 26-Feb: Semester Course Drop Deadline
Project1
2d List Exercises / Projects
Thu 29-Feb: Optional: How to Build a CPU + Assembly Programming (David)
No quiz6
No hw7
project1 (due Sat 2-Mar at 8pm)
Mon 4-Mar
to
Fri 8-Mar
Spring Break (No Classes)
Week
#8
Mon 11-Mar
to
Fri 15-Mar
Animations with Lists
Thu 14-Mar: Optional: Robotics with Multiply Labs (Fred + Mike)
No quiz7
hw8 pre-release (due Sat 16-Mar at 8pm)
Week
#9
Mon 18-Mar
to
Fri 22-Mar
Sets
Dictionaries
Efficiency
Thu 21-Mar: Optional: QuickSort, RadixSort, Priority Queues, Heapsort, Huffman Coding (David)
quiz8 (on Tue 19-Mar)
hw9 (due Sat 23-Mar at 8pm)
Week
#10
Mon 25-Mar
to
Fri 29-Mar
Recursion
Thu 28-Mar: Optional: Quantum Computing (Mike)
quiz9 (on Tue 26-Mar)
hw10 (due Sat 30-Mar at 8pm)
Week
#11
Mon 1-Apr
to
Fri 5-Apr
Mon 1-Apr: Semester Course Withdraw + Pass/Fail Deadline
Object Oriented Programming (OOP)
Thu 4-Apr: Optional: How to write a programming language (David)
Sat 6-Apr - Sun 7-Apr, Optional: Hack112!
quiz10 (on Tue 2-Apr)
Last hw: hw11 (due Sat 6-Apr at 4pm)
Week
#12
Mon 8-Apr
to
Fri 12-Apr
112 Carnival Day (in-lecture Tuesday)
Thu 11-Apr to Sat 13-Apr: Spring Carnival (No Classes)
Last quiz: quiz11 (on Tue 9-Apr)
Week
#13
Mon 15-Apr
to
Fri 19-Apr
Midterm Review (in-lecture Tuesday)
Thu 18-Apr: midterm2
Week
#14
Mon 22-Apr
to
Fri 26-Apr
Project2
Monte Carlo Methods
Exceptions
Functions Redux
NP-Completeness + The Halting Problem
Programming for Social Good
project2 (due Sat 27-Apr at 8pm)
Final
Exam
TBD Date/Time TBD: Final Exam