CMU 15-112: Schedule
Fall 2021

   
Week Dates Event / Topics Quizzes / Homeworks / Practice
Week
#1
Mon 30-Aug
to
Fri 3-Sep
Getting Started  |  Getting Started with VSCode
Data Types and Operations
Variables and Functions
Conditionals
112-student-contract (due Wed 1-Sep)
hw1 (due Sat 4-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice1 (due never)
Week
#2
Mon 6-Sep
to
Fri 10-Sep
Mon 6-Sep: Labor Day (No Classes)
Loops
Debugging
Code Tracing
quiz1 (on Tue 7-Sep)
hw2 (due Sat 11-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice2 (due never)
Week
#3
Mon 13-Sep
to
Fri 17-Sep
Mon 13-Sep: Semester Course Add Deadline
Strings
Graphics (Tkinter)
Style
Fri 17-Sep: Deadline to transfer to 15-110
quiz2 (on Tue 14-Sep)
hw3 (due Sat 18-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice3 (due never)
Week
#4
Mon 20-Sep
to
Fri 24-Sep
1d Lists and Tuples
1d List Case Studies
Tue 21-Sep, 6pm: Optional: How to Build a Computer (from Gates to CPU's)
quiz3 (on Tue 21-Sep)
hw4 (due Sat 25-Sep at 8pm)
extra-practice4 (due never)
Week
#5
Mon 27-Sep
to
Fri 1-Oct
2d Lists
2d List Case Studies
Animations Part 1: Events and MVC
Tue 28-Sep, 6pm: Optional: History of Computing
Sun 3-Oct, 1pm-5pm: Optional: 112 Puzzle Hunt!
quiz4 (on Tue 28-Sep)
hw5 (due Sat 2-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice5 (due never)
Week
#6
Mon 4-Oct
to
Fri 8-Oct
OOP Part 1: Using Objects and Methods
Animations Part 2: Case Studies
Animations Part 3: Animations with Lists
Tue 5-Oct, 6pm: Optional: How to Build a CPU + Assembly Programming
quiz5 (on Tue 5-Oct)
hw6 (due Sat 9-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice6 (due never)
Week
#7
Mon 11-Oct
to
Fri 15-Oct
Mon 11-Oct: Semester Course Drop Deadline
Midterm Review
Tue 12-Oct: Midterm #1
Thu 14-Oct: Mid-Semester Break (No Classes)
No quiz6 or hw7
Week
#8
Mon 18-Oct
to
Fri 22-Oct
Sets  |  Dictionaries  |  Efficiency
OOP Part 2: Writing Classes and Methods
OOP Part 3: Special Methods + Inheritance
OOP Part 4: The __hash__ Method
Term Project Preview
Sun 24-Oct, 2pm-3:30pm: Optional: 112 Quiz Bowl!
No quiz7
hw8 (due Sat 23-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice8 (due never)
Week
#9
Mon 25-Oct
to
Fri 29-Oct
Recursion Part 1
Recursion Part 2
Tue 26-Oct, 6pm: Optional: Machine Learning and Robotics
quiz8 (on Tue 26-Oct)
hw9 (due Sat 30-Oct at 8pm)
extra-practice9 (due never)
Week
#10
Mon 1-Nov
to
Fri 5-Nov
Exceptions   |   Functions Redux
Animations Part 4: More Events, Images, Sound, Modes, etc
TP Ideation Meetings (with TP Mentors)
TA-led Mini-Lectures (Attend 1 or more of your choice)
Fri 5-Nov: Community Engagement Day (No Classes)
Sat 6-Nov - Sun 7-Nov, Optional: Hack112!
quiz9 (on Tue 2-Nov)
hw10 (due Thu 4-Nov at 10pm)
extra-practice10 (due never)
Week
#11
Mon 8-Nov
to
Fri 12-Nov
Mon 8-Nov: Semester Course Withdraw + Pass/Fail Deadline
Midterm Review
Thu 11-Nov: Midterm #2
Optional TP Check-Ins (with TP Mentors)
Fri 12-Nov, 6pm: Optional: Quantum Computing
No more quizzes or hw's
this semester
tp0 (due Sat 13-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#12
Mon 15-Nov
to
Fri 19-Nov
Term Project Assignment Part 2
Monte Carlo Methods
Tue 16-Nov, 6pm: Optional: How to write a programming language
tp1 (due Thu 18-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#13
Mon 22-Nov
to
Fri 26-Nov
User-Study-a-Thon!
Wed 24-Nov - Fri 26-Nov: Thanksgiving Break (No Classes)
tp2 (due Tue 23-Nov at 8pm)
Week
#14
Mon 29-Nov
to
Fri 3-Dec
NP-Completeness   |   The Halting Problem
Thu 2-Dec: TP Showcase   |   Programming for Social Good
Fri 3-Dec: Semester Drop Voucher Election Deadline
Date/Time TBD: Optional: Wrapping Up
tp3 (due Wed 1-Dec at 5pm)
Finals
-- Thu 9-Dec, 8:30am - 11:30am: Final Exam