SCS
Student
Seminar
Series

go to the list of abstracts
abstracts

go to the list of previous talks
previous talks

go to the list of other SCS seminars
scs seminars

go to the SCS home page
SCS

go to the CMU home page
CMU

     

The Next Talk Sp'20 Talks General Info Speaking Req't

All SSS talks will now be carried out through Zoom.


Spring 2020 Schedule
Mon, Jan 13 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Jan 17 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Jan 20 GHC 6501 M.L.K. Day Not Available
Fri, Jan 24 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Jan 27 GHC 6501 Saurabh Kadekodi Gotta Have HeART: Improving Storage Efficiency by Exploiting Disk-Reliability Heterogeneity
Fri, Jan 31 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Feb 3 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 7 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Feb 10 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 14 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Feb 17 GHC 6501 Byungsoo Jeon Time-series Insights into the Process of Passing or Failing Online University Courses using Neural-Induced Interpretable Student States
Fri, Feb 21 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Feb 24 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 28 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Mar 2 GHC 6501 CSD Open House Not Available
Fri, Mar 6 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Mar 9 GHC 6501 Spring Break Not Available
Fri, Mar 13 NSH 3002 Spring Break Not Available
Mon, Mar 16 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 20 NSH 3002 Michael Kuchnik Progressive Compressed Records: Taking a Byte out of Deep Learning Data
Mon, Mar 23 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 27 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Mar 30 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 3 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Apr 6 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 10 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Apr 13 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 17 NSH 3002 Spring Carnival Not Available
Mon, Apr 20 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 24 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, Apr 27 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, May 1 NSH 3002 Expired
Mon, May 4 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, May 8 GHC 8102 Expired
Mon, May 11 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, May 15 NSH 3002 Black Friday Not Available
Mon, May 18 GHC 6501 Post Black Friday By request only
Fri, May 22 NSH 3002 Post Black Friday By request only


Fall 2020 Schedule
Mon, Aug 31 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 4 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 7 GHC 6501 Labor Day Not Available
Fri, Sep 11 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 14 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 18 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 21 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 25 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 28 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 2 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 5 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 9 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 12 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 16 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 19 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 23 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 26 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 30 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 2 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 6 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 9 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 13 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 16 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 20 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 23 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 27 GHC 6501 Thanksgiving Not Available
Mon, Nov 30 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Dec 4 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Dec 7 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Dec 11 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Dec 14 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Dec 18 GHC 6501 Black Friday Not Available
Mon, Dec 21 GHC 6501 Post Black Friday By request only


General Info

The Student Seminar Series is an informal seminar for SCS graduate students to communicate ideas. Each meeting starts at noon and lasts 1 hour. Lunch is provided by the Computer Science Department (thanks to Debbie Cavlovich!). At each meeting, a different student speaker will give an informal, 40-minute talk about his/her research, followed by questions/suggestions/brainstorming. We try to attract people with a diverse set of interests, and encourage speakers to present at a very general, accessible level.

So why are we doing this and why take part? In the best case scenario, this will lead to some interesting cross-disciplinary work among people in different fields and people may get some new ideas about their research. In the worst case scenario, a few people will practice their public speaking and the rest get together for a free lunch.


Steps for Scheduling Talks

To schedule a talk, pick up a free slot and send your (a) name, (b) department, (c) talk title, (d) talk abstract, and (e) a link to your home page to sss@cs at least TWO WEEKS before your talk.

Each speaker may schedule at most 3 talks per semester.

For SCS students willing to give presentations counting toward fulfilling their speaking skills requirement, SSS is an ideal forum to do so. For CSD students, these are roughly 3 steps:

  1. Send you talk details as listed above to SSS at least THREE WEEKS before the talk.
  2. After you are confirmed with your SSS slot, go to Speakers Club Calendar and add your talk to it.
  3. On the day of your talk, bring Speakers Club Evaluation Forms for your evaluators to use.

Each talk starts at noon and lasts 1 hour. The room is booked from 11:30am (30 mins before the talk) to 1:30pm (30 mins after the talk). Students outside of CSD will need to check with their respective departments regarding the procedure. As another example, ISRI students fulfill their speaking requirements by attending a semesterly Software Research Seminar and giving X number of presentations per school year. If you have experience with your department that might help others in your department, please feel free to contribute your knowledge by emailing us. Thank you!


SSS Coordinators

Qing Zheng, CSD

 


Web contact: sss+www@cs