SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

SCS Faculty: The Stevens Award
--The Stevens Award was created to recognize outstanding contributions to the literature or practice of methods for software and systems development. The corresponding Stevens Lecture on Software Development Methods focusses on lessons learned and challenges, with an emphasis on advancing or analyzing the state of software methods and their direction for the future.

This prestigious award lecture is named in memory of Wayne Stevens (1944-1993), a highly-respected consultant, author, pioneer, and advocate of the practical application of software methods and tools. His 1974 IBM Systems Journal article "Structured Design" was the first published on the topic and has been widely reprinted. Stevens was the author of the books: Software Design: Concepts and Methods (Prentice-Hall Intl, 1991) and Using Structured Design (Wiley, 1981). His last article "Data Flow Analysis and Design" appears in the Encyclopedia of Software Engineering (Wiley, 1994). Stevens was the chief architect of application development methodology for IBM's consulting group.

  • Mary Shaw, 2005 (Jointly with Jim Highsmith)
    Lecture: Sparking Research Ideas from the Friction Between Doctrine and Reality

    SCS Faculty: The Stevens Award Citation

    • David Garlan, 2005
      - in honor of his fundamental contributions to the development and understanding of software architecture as a discipline in software engineering"

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science