SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

The Sobolev Institute of Mathematics Gold Medal for Great Contributions in Mathematics
–- The Sobolev Institute Gold Medal was established in 2007 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Sobolev Institute of Mathematics in Novosibirsk. Two medals are awarded each year – one to a Russian mathematician and one to a non-Russian. Part of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Science, the institute includes about 500 researchers who carry on fundamental investigations in mathematics, mathematical physics and informatics.

  • Dana S. Scott, 2009
    Scott has made fundamental contributions to contemporary logic and is best known for his creation of domain theory, a branch of mathematics that is essential for analyzing advanced computer programming languages.
    – Also receiving award: Igor R. Shafarevich

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science