SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

SCS Faculty: Members of National Academy of Engineering
--Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the National Academy of Sciences the responsibility for advising the federal government and management of the National Research Council. The National Academy of Engineering also sponsors engineering programs aimed at meeting national needs, encourages education and research, and recognizes the superior achievements of engineers.

  • Manuel Blum, 2006
    – For contributions to abstract complexity theory, cryptographic protocols and the theory and applications of program checkers.

  • Randal E. Bryant, 2003
    – For contributions to symbolic simulation and logic verification.

  • Edmund M. Clarke, 2005
    – For contributions to the formal verification of hardware and software correctness.

  • Angel G. Jordan, 1986*
    – For contributions to solid-state device research, and for innovative leadership in engineering education.

  • Pradeep K. Khosla, 2006
    – For his contributions to the design and sensor-based control in robotics systems for the assembly of precision electronics, and for innovative leadership in engineering education.

  • Takeo Kanade, 1997
    – For contributions to computer vision and robotics.

  • Tom Mitchell, 2010
    &ndash ;For pioneering contributions and leadership in the methods and applications of machine learning.
    NAE Release

  • Raj Reddy, 1984
    – For his contributions to the fundamental technology of artificial intelligence and its application to speech recognition, expert systems, and robotics.

  • Daniel P. Siewiorek, 2000
    –For contributions to wearable computers, multiprocessor design, reliable systems, and automated design synthesis.

  • Manuela Veloso, 2022
    – For contributions to machine learning and its applications in robotics and the financial services industry.

  • William "Red" Whittaker, 2009
    – For pioneering contributions to fielded, mobile, autonomous robots.

In Memoriam*

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science Home Page