SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
-Established in 1996 in memory of Paris C. Kanellakis, honors specific theoretical accomplishments that have had a significant and demonstrable effect on the practice of computing. The award, presented by the Association for Computing Machinery, is accompanied by a $5,000 prize

2003 Recipients: For the development of efficient randomized tests of primality
Gary L. Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
Michael Rabin, Division of Applied Sciences, Harvard University
Robert Solovay, Emeritus, University of California at Berkeley
Volker Strassen, Emeritus, University of Konstanz. Germany

1999 Recipients: For the invention of the Splay Tree data structure
Daniel Sleator, Carnegie Mellon University
Robert Tarjan, Princeton University

1998 Recipients: For their work on symbolic model checking
Randy Bryant, Carnegie Mellon University
Edmund M. Clarke, Carnegie Mellon University
Allen Emerson, University of Texas
Kenneth McMillan (PhD/CS'92), Cadence Berkeley Laboratories

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
About the School of Computer Science
School of Computer Science Home Page

This page maintained by