SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): Founder's Medal
– The Founder's Medal, established in 1952, is presented for outstanding contributions in the leadership, planning, and administration of affairs of great value to the electrical and electronics engineering profession. Previous winners include Google's Eric Schmidt, Intel's Gordon E. Moore and MIT's Jerome Wiesner. Kanade is the first winner from Carnegie Mellon. The medal is one of IEEE's highest honors.

    Takeo Kanade, 2017
    For pioneering and seminal contributions to computer vision and robotics for automotive safety, facial recognition, virtual reality, and medical robotics. Release

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science