SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

Awards Received from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) by SCS Faculty

  • IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award
    The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing award was established in 2002. It is presented for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing to an individual or a team of not more than three. The award recognizes achievements in all aspects of speech and audio technology.

    Raj Reddy, 2008
    "For leadership and pioneering contributions to speech recognition, natural language understanding, and machine intelligence."

  • IEEE Longuet-Higgins Prize
    For their paper, "Probabilistic Modeling of Local Appearance and Spatial Relationships for Object Recognition,"cited as a significant advance in object recognition through probabilistic modeling and multiple-view training, yielding a state-of-the-art face detection technique.

    Takeo Kanade, 2008
    Henry Schneiderman, 2008

  • IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award
    "For seminal contributions to the field of computer-aided circuit design and verification, including the development and promulgation of ordered binary decision diagrams."

    Randal E. Bryant, 2007

    "For seminal contributions to artificial intelligence."
    Allen Newell, 1990 (Deceased)

  • IEEE Simon Ramo Medal
    The IEEE Simon Ramo Medal was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1982, is named in honor of the distinguished engineering contributions of Dr. Simon Ramo, former Vice Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Executive Committee of TRW, Inc. It is awarded for exceptional achievement in systems engineering and systems science or for technical leadership in a major innovative engineering project .

    William "Red" Whittaker, 2012
    "For his pioneering contributions to mobile autonomous robotics, field applications of robotics and systems engineering."
    SCS Release

  • IEEE Computer Pioneer Award
    "...for significant contributions to concepts and developments in the electronic computer field which have clearly advanced the state of the art in computing."

    Allen Newell, Charter Recipient (Deceased)
    Alan J. Perlis, 1985 (Deceased)
    "...for computer language translation."

  • IEEE W.R.G. Baker Prize Paper Award
    "The IEEE W.R.G. Baker Prize Award was established in 1956 and is presented by the IEEE Board of Directors for the most outstanding paper, reporting original work, in the Transactions, Journals and Magazines of the IEEE Societies, or in the Proceedings of the IEEE, issued between 1 January and 31 December of the preceding year."

    Randal E. Bryant, 1989

  • IEEE Eckert-Mauchly Award
    – awarded jointly by the Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery for outstanding contributions to the field of computer and digital systems architecture

    Daniel P. Siewiorek, 1988
    "...for outstanding contributions in parallel computer architecture, reliability, and computer architecture education."

  • IEEE Harry M. Goode Memorial Award
    – awarded on the basis of achievements in the infomration processing field which are considered either a single contribution of theory, design, or technique of outstanding significance, or the accumulation of important contributions on theory or practice over an extended time period, the total of which represent an outstanding contribution.

    Edmund C. Clarke, Jr., 2004
    "...for significant and pioneering contributions to formal verification of hardware and software systems, and for the profound impact these contributions have had on the electronics industry."

    Allen Newell, 1971 (In Memoriam)
    "...for his major contributions to the computing profession's scientific understanding of complex information processing systems in the areas of computer programming systems and understanding of human thought processes.

  • IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Award

    Garth Gibson, with David Patterson and Randy Katz
    "for the development of Redundant Arrays of Inexpensive Disks (RAID)"

  • W. Wallace McDowell Award
    "...presented for outstanding recent theoretical,design, educational, practical,or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of Computer Society interest."

    Pradeep Khosla, 2001
    ...for significant contributions to the design reconfigurable real-time software systems, and for significant contributions to undergraduate and graduate education in electrical and computer engineering and robotics"

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science