SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

Recipients of the FORE Systems Professorship in Computer Science

  • Ziv Bar-Joseph, 2017
    Ziv Bar-Joseph is the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science in the Machine Learning and Computational Biology Departments. His primary research areas are computational Biology, Bioinformatics and Machine learning. He is heading the Systems Biology Group at the School of Computer Science at CMU, which develops computational methods for understanding the interactions, dynamics and conservation of complex biological systems. Ziv is also the recipient of the 2012 Overton Prize in computational biology. Additional Information

  • Lorrie Faith Cranor, 2017
    Lorrie Faith Cranor is the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and of Engineering and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University where she is director of the CyLab Usable Privacy and Security Laboratory (CUPS). She is associate department head of the Engineering and Public Policy Department and co-director of the MSIT-Privacy Engineering masters program. In 2016 she served as Chief Technologist at the US Federal Trade Commission. She is also a co-founder of Wombat Security Technologies, Inc, a security awareness training company. She is a fellow of the ACM and IEEE and a member of the ACM CHI Academy. Additional Information

  • Edmund C. Clarke, 1995
    Edmund Clarke is FORE Systems Professor Emeritus in the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University. He was the first recipient of the FORE Systems Endowed Professorship in 1995 and became a University Professor in 2008. He received a B.A. degree from the University of Virginia, a M.S. degree from Duke University, a Ph.D. from Cornell University, and taught at Duke and Harvard Universities before joining CMU in 1982. His research interests include hardware and software verification and automatic theorem proving. In particular, his research group developed Symbolic Model Checking using BDDs, Bounded Model Checking using fast CNF satisfiability solvers, and pioneered the use of CounterExample-Guided-Abstraction-Refinement (CEGAR). He was a co-founder of the conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV). He has received numerous awards for his contributions to formal verification of hardware and software correctness, including the IEEE Goode Award, ACM Kanellakis Award, ACM Turing Award, CADE Herbrand Award, and the CAV Award. He received the 2014 Franklin Institute Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science for verification of computer systems.

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science