SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

SCS Faculty: The Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science
– The Bower Award and Prize from the historic Franklin Institute, which includes a gold medal and a cash prize of $250,000, is among the richest awards for scientific achievement in the world. It was established in 1988 with a bequest from Henry Bower, a Philadelphia chemical manufacturer who also endowed an award for business leadership. The Bower Prize has honored exceptional men and women in science, technology and engineering for nearly two centuries. For the past 184 years, The Franklin Institute has recognized individuals whose great innovation has benefited humanity, advanced science, launched new fields of inquiry and deepened our understanding of the universe. The list of Franklin Institute laureates includes such 19th and 20th century luminaries as Alexander Graham Bell, Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

  • Edmund M. Clarke, 2014
    For his leading role in the conception and development of techniques for automatically verifying the correctness of a broad array of computer systems, including those found in transportation, communications and medicine.
    SCS Release
    CMU Release
    Franklin Institute Announcement

  • Takeo Kanade, 2008
    For visionary leadership and scientific accomplishments in the design of perceptual robotic algorithms and systems that function in the physical world.
    Franklin Institute Announcement

  • Stuart K Card, 2007 (Alumni)
    For fundamental contributions to the fields of human-computer interaction and information visualization."
    Franklin Institute Announcement

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science