SCS Student Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3890
412.268.8525 - 412.268.5576 [Fax]

ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award
--Awarded annually by the Association for Computing Machinery to the author(s) of the best doctoral dissertation(s) in computer science and engineering.


  • Julian Shun, 2015
    Shared-Memory Parallelism Can Be Simple, Fast and Scalable

  • Bryan Parno1, 2010
    Trust Extension as a Mechanism for Secure Code on Commodity Computers

  • André Platzer1, 2009 (Honorable Mention)
    Differential Dynamic Logics: Automated Theorem Proving for Hybrid Systems

  • Derek Hoiem, 2008 (Honorable Mention)
    Seeing the World Behind the Image: Spatial Layout for 3D Scene Understanding

  • Vincent Conitzer, 2007 (Honorable Mention)
    Computational Aspects of Preference Aggregation

  • Yan Liu, 2007, (Honorable Mention)
    Conditional Graphical Models for Protein Structure Prediction

  • Venkatesan Guruswami1, 2002
    List DEcoding of Error-Correcting Codes

  • Robert C. Miller, 2002 (Honorable Mention)
    Lightweight Structure in Text

  • Ion Stoica, 2001
    Stateless Core: A Scalable Approach for Quality of Service

  • Robert O'Callahan, 2001 (Honorable Mention)
    Generalized Aliasing as a Basis for Porgram Analysis Tools

  • James J. Kistler, 1993 (Honorable Mention)
    Disconnected Operation in a Distributed File System

  • Kenneth McMillan, 1992
    Symbolic Model Checking: An Approach to the State Explosion Problem

  • Vijay Saraswat, 1989
    Concurrent Constraint Programming Languages

  • David Dill, 1988 (Doctoral Dissertation Series Winner)
    Trace Theory for Autmoatic Hierarchical Verification of Speed-Independent Circuits

  • Ketan Mulmuley, 1986
    Full Abstraction and Semantic Equivalence

  • Carl Ebeling, 1986 (Doctoral Dissertation Series Winner)
    All the Right Moves: A VLSI Architecture for Chess

  • Charles E. Leiserson, 1982
    Area-efficient VLSI Computation

  • Roderic G. Cattell, 1978 (Inaugural Year of the Award)
    Formalization and Automatic Derivation of Code Generators

1Current Faculty Member: Computer Science Department, School of Computer Science

SCS Student Awards
School of Computer Science

This page maintained by