SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

SCS Faculty: Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) - Robert S. Engelmore Memorial Lecture Award
– This annual keynote lecture is presented at the IAAI conference in honor of Dr. Robert S. Engelmore's extraordinary service to AAAI, AI Magazine, and the AI applications community, and his contributions to applied AI. The memorial lecture topics encompass Bob' wide interests in AI. Each lecture is linked to a subsequent article to be published by AI Magazine. The lecturer and, therefore, the author for the magazine article, are chosen jointly by the IAAI Program Committee and the editor of AI Magazine. The Robert S. Engelmore Memorial Lecture includes a certificate from IAAI, and an honorarium.


  • Tuomas Sandholm, 2021
    For his outstanding research contributions in AI, its application to electronic marketplaces, his highly original use of AI in strategic multiplayer games such as poker, and the application of AI to optimize transplant organ exchanges.

  • Stephen F. Smith, 2018
    For sustained research excellence in constraint-based planning and scheduling technologies, deployment of those technologies to a range of significant real-world problems, and extensive service to the AI community that includes significant outreach to related technical fields.

    Alumni Recipients

  • Milind Tambe, 2019
    For outstanding research contributions in the area of multi-agent systems and their application to problems of societal significance.

  • Craig A. Knoblock, 2014
    For seminal contributions to machine learning and information integration, high-impact deployed applications and open-source projects, and extensive service to AAAI and international AI.

  • Steven Minton, 2012
    For seminal contributions in scheduling, planning, and machine learning, advancement of real-world AI systems through public and private organizations, and leadership in new dissemination methods for AI research.

  • Oren Etzioni, 2007
    For longstanding technical and entrepreneurial contributions to artificial intelligence, including seminal research on AI on the Web and the deployment of AI technologies in high-impact applications.

  • Edward A. Feigenbaum, 2004
    For decades of technical, business, and government leadership in artificial intelligence, as well as pioneering research on knowledge-based systems.

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science