next up previous
Next: Letter to Sound Rules Up: Unit Size in Unit Previous: Synthesis Framework

Hindi Synthesis

The basic units of the writing system in Indian languages are characters which are an orthographic representation of speech sounds. A character in Indian language scripts is close to a syllable and can be typically of the following form: C, V, CV, VC, CCV and CVC, where C is a consonant and V is a vowel. All Indian language scripts have a common phonetic base, and an universal phoneset consists of about 35 consonants and about 18 vowels. In Hindi, there are five vowels, five long vowels, two diphthongs, four semivowels, and 31 consonants. There are a few more vowels and consonants existing in Hindi, but we did not consider them as they are rarely used in the current times.


Alan W Black 2003-10-20