Three from Carnegie Mellon Elected 2007 Fellows of Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers

Printer-friendly version

Carnegie Mellon University faculty members John Lafferty, ChuckThorpe and Tsuhan Chen have have been elected 2007 Fellows of the Instituteof Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE). The Institute representsengineers, scientists and allied professionals whose technical interests arerooted in electrical and computer sciences, engineering and relateddisciplines. The IEEE has more than 360,000 members in 150 countries aroundthe world. Being named a Fellow is one of the organization's mostprestigious honors.

Lafferty, a professor of computer science and machine learning,has been cited for his contributions to statistical pattern recognition andstatistical language processing, while Thorpe, a member of the RoboticsInstitute faculty and dean of the university's Qatar campus, is beingrecognized for his leadership in the research and development ofvision-based autonomous outdoor vehicles. Chen, a professor of electricaland computer engineering and head of CIT's Advanced Multi-ProcessingLaboratory, is being honored for his contributions in the area ofmultidisciplinary multimedia signal processing.

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 |