Three SCS Faculty Members Named Wimmer Fellows

Byron SpiceMonday, June 8, 2020

SCS faculty members Michael Hilton, Joshua Sunshine and Stephanie Rosenthal have been named 2020-21 Wimmer Faculty Fellows.

Three School of Computer Science faculty members — Michael Hilton, Stephanie Rosenthal and Joshua Sunshine — have been named 2020-21 Wimmer Faculty Fellows by the university's Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence and Educational Innovation.

The fellowships, sponsored by the Wimmer Family Foundation, are designed for junior faculty members who seek to enhance their teaching by designing or redesigning a course, creating innovative new teaching materials, or exploring a new pedagogical approach. Fellows work in close collaboration with Eberly Center colleagues and receive a stipend.

Hilton, an assistant teaching professor in the Institute for Software Research (ISR), and Sunshine, senior research fellow and director of ISR's undergraduate research program, are designing a new course called Crafting Software that will teach programming to students outside computer science or computer engineering who need programming skills as part of their research.

Rosenthal, assistant teaching professor in the Computer Science Department, is redesigning Autonomous Agents, a senior-level, artificial intelligence course that she developed in which students deploy and test an AI system in the form of an autonomous greenhouse.

For More Information

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 |<br>Virginia Alvino Young | 412-268-8356 |