Top Achievers Honored In SCS Founder’s Day Ceremony

The School of Computer Science honored outstanding faculty and staff members April 4 during the annual Founder’s Day ceremony in Rashid Auditorium. It was the sixth year for the event and was hosted by a variety of Faculty including; Manuela Veloso, Frank Pfenning, Bob Frederking and Guy Blelloch.

Roni Rosenfeld, Professor in the Machine Learning Department (MLD) and Language Technologies Institute (LTI), was the winner of the Joel and Ruth Spira Teaching Award, sponsored by Lutron Electronics Co. of Coopersburg, Pa., in honor of the company’s founders and the inventor of the electronic dimmer switch.

David Garlan, Bradley Schmerl, and Mary Shaw, won the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence for their work.

Citation: For the development of software architecture as an organizing principle for large-scale systems, its influence on software practice, and its recent applications to cyber-physical systems and run-time failure analysis.

Anil Ada, Assistant Teaching Professor in the Computer Science Department (CSD), won the Herbert Simon Award for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science.

Nicole Stenger, Academic Program Manager for the Computational Biology Department, won the award for Outstanding Staff, while Kelsee Hibner, Applications Coordinator in the SCS Dean's Office, received the Citizenship Award. Laura Alford, Administrative Coordinator for LTI, won the Individual Dedication Award. 

RI's Dan Getkin and Sanae Minick, Senior Administrative Coordinator and Managing Editor/Administrative Coordinator were recognized for Outstanding Teamwork.  Jessica Packer, Administrative Assistant II, for CSD was named Rookie of the Year and Melissa Keaton, Administrative Assistant II in CSD, was honored for Sustained Excellence. 

2017 Founders Day Video




About Founders Day

Allen Newell (TPR’57), Herbert A. Simon (H’90) and Alan Perlis (S’42) are considered the founders of computer science at Carnegie Mellon University. We honor their legacies in the education and research we conduct at the School of Computer Science. And since 2012, we have set aside one special day each year to honor those faculty and staff members whose work seems to best follow the examples set by Newell, Simon and Perlis. At SCS Founders’ Day, we present the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence, the Herbert A. Simon Award for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science, and our internal staff recognition awards, and we pay tribute to recent external awards made to faculty members. It’s also a time for us to come together as a community and reflect on the state of the CMU School of Computer Science.

Subscribe to Founders Day, Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science RSS