Celebration of Education

Special Events

A Celebration of Education recognizes that accomplishments of faculty who exemplify the university's standards of excellence in education. This event celebrates our distinguished faculty members for their outstanding contributions to the university and their devotion to and effectiveness in teaching. A Celebration of Education consists of five main awards: the Doherty Award, Ryan Award, Academic Advising Award, Barbara Lazarus Award and Gelfand Award. In addition, the most recent Wimmer Faculty Fellows and recipients of the College Teaching Awards, Graduate Student Teaching Award and Graduate Student Service Award are also honored.

A reception will follow the program.

Among the SCS Faculty to be honored:

The Herbert A. Simon Award for Teaching Excellence
  Michael Erdmann
  Professor, Departments of Computer Science and Robotics

Wimmer Faculty Fellows
  Charles Garrod
   Assistant Teaching Professor, Institute for Software Research

   Project Title: Flipping the Web Application Development Classroom

Zico Kolter
  Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Institute for Software Research
   Project Title: Software for Rapidly Producing Online Course Content

For More Information, Please Contact: