Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science

Theory Lunch

Theory Lunch is an informal seminar run by Algorithms and Complexity Theory Group on Wednesdays, noon till 1pm, in NSH 1507 (unless otherwise specified). It is open to faculty, graduate and undergraduate students interested in theoretical aspects of Computer Science.

The meetings have various forms: talks on recently completed results, joint reading of an interesting paper, presentations of current work in progress and exciting open problems, etc.

Fall 2008 Schedule

(Wednesdays noon-1:00pm, NSH 1507)

September 10, Wednesday   Meet and Greet; Open Problems Session
September 17, Wednesday Aaron Roth Truthful Mechanisms for Online Supply
September 24, Wednesday Abe Othman Making a Killing: The Theory and Practice of Assassination Markets
October 1, Wednesday    
October 8, Wednesday Don Sheehy Finding the Center
October 15, Wednesday Venkatesan Guruswami Compressed Sensing, Euclidean sections, and JL lemma
October 22, Wednesday Viswanath Nagarajan The Directed Minimum Latency Problem
October 29, Wednesday Mike Dinitz Maximizing Capacity in Arbitrary Wireless Networks in the SINR Model: Complexity and Game Theory
November 5, Wednesday    
November 12, Wednesday Ravishankar Krishnaswamy Scheduling with Outliers
November 19, Wednesday Chinmoy Dutta (TIFR, Mumbai) Lower Bounds for Noisy Wireless Networks via Sampling Algorithms
November 26, Wednesday No theory lunch Thanksgiving
December 3, Wednesday Karl Wimmer Testing Fourier dimensionality and sparsity
December 10, Wednesday Yi Wu Hardness of Approximating Satisfiable 3-CSP

Previous Seminar Series

maintained by Eric Blais (eblais@cs)