Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science

Theory Lunch

Theory Lunch is an informal seminar run by Algorithms and Complexity Theory Group on Wednesdays, noon till 1pm, in NSH 1507 (unless otherwise specified). It is open to faculty, graduate and undergraduate students interested in theoretical aspects of Computer Science.

The meetings have various forms: talks on recently completed results, joint reading of an interesting paper, presentations of current work in progress and exciting open problems, etc.

Fall 2006 Schedule

(Wednesdays noon-1:00pm, NSH 1507)

September 13, Wednesday Mor Harchol-Balter What Analytical Performance Modeling Teaches Us About Computer Systems Design NA
September 20, Wednesday Ryan O'Donnell Testing Dictators (and the hardness of approximating Max-Cut-Gain) NA
September 27, Wednesday Michael Dinitz Spanners with Slack pdf
October 4, Wednesday Daniel Golovin Quorum Placement in Networks: Minimizing Network Congestion NA
October 11, Wednesday Viswanath Nagarajan Approximating the Dial-a-Ride problem ppt
October 18, Wednesday Warren D. Smith Low-Tech Secure Voting Schemes NA
October 25, Wednesday Todd Phillips Runtime-Efficient Meshing Algorithms NA
November 1, Wednesday MohammadTaghi Hajiaghayi Approximation Algorithms for Non-Uniform Buy-at-Bulk Network Design and Related Problems NA
November 8, Wednesday Virginia Vassilevska A dominance approach to weighted graph problems NA
November 15, Wednesday Don Sheehy Flips in Computational Geometry ppt
November 22, Wednesday No Theory Lunch No Theory Lunch NA
November 29, Wednesday Vijay Vazirani New Market Models and Algorithms NA
December 6, Wednesday No Theory Lunch No Theory Lunch NA
December 13, Wednesday Katrina Ligett Approximate Online Optimization NA

Previous Seminar Series

maintained by David Abraham (