Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science

Theory Lunch

Theory Lunch is an informal seminar run by Algorithms and Complexity Theory Group on Wednesdays, noon till 1pm, in NSH 1507 (unless otherwise specified). It is open to faculty, graduate and undergraduate students interested in theoretical aspects of Computer Science.

The meetings have various forms: talks on recently completed results, joint reading of an interesting paper, presentations of current work in progress and exciting open problems, etc.

Fall 2004 Schedule

(Wednesdays noon-1:00pm, NSH 1507)

September 15, Wednesday
(in Wean 4623)
Luis von Ahn Covert Two-Party Computation
September 22, Wednesday Maverick Woo A Brief History of History Independent Data Structures
September 29, Wednesday Alex Slivkins Triangulation and Embedding Using Beacons
October 6, Wednesday
(in Wean 4623)
Ryan Williams Better Lower Bounds for SAT and Related Problems
October 13, Wednesday Lea Kissner Private and Threshold Set-Intersection
October 20, Wednesday Taka Osogami Approximating probability distributions
October 27, Wednesday Brendan McMahan Online Geometric Optimization in the Bandit Setting Against an Adaptive Adversary
November 3, Wednesday Abie Flaxman Online convex optimization: gradient descent without a gradient
November 10, Wednesday
No Theory Lunch
No Theory Lunch
November 17, Wednesday Srinath Sridhar On the reconstruction of evolutionary trees
November 24, Wednesday
No Theory Lunch
No Theory Lunch
December 1, Wednesday Maria-Florina Balcan A Theoretical Model for Learning from Labeled and Unlabeled Data
December 8, Wednesday Doug James Output-Sensitive Collision Detection for Reduced-Coordinate Deformable Objects
December 15, Wednesday Amy Ward Optimal Control of High Volume Assemble-to-Order Systems

Previous Seminar Series

maintained by Luis von Ahn (