Second ACM Workshop on
Hot Topics in Software Upgrades (HotSWUp'09)

Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN
Held in conjunction with OOPSLA 2009

Disney World, Orlando, FL
25 October 2009



The goal of HotSWUp is to identify cutting-edge research ideas for implementing software upgrades. Actively-used software is upgraded regularly to incorporate bug fixes and security patches or to keep up with the evolving requirements. Whether upgrades are applied offline or online, they significantly impact the software's performance and reliability. Recently-introduced commercial products aim to address various aspects of this problem, e.g., programing language/framework/middleware support for online upgrade, large-scale dissemination of fine-grained updates, live data migration in storage-area networks. However, recent studies and a large body of anecdotal evidence suggest that, in practice, upgrades remain failure-prone, tedious, and expensive.

HotSWUp is an inter-disciplinary workshop, based on synergies among the domains of programming languages (e.g., as reflected at conferences such as OOPSLA or PLDI), software engineering (e.g., as reflected at ICSE or FSE) and systems (e.g., as reflected at SOSP or OSDI). By seeking contributions from both academic researchers and industry practitioners, HotSWUp aims to combine novel ideas with experience from upgrading real systems.

The workshop builds on the success of HotSWUp'08, where the paper presentations and lively discussions attracted a diverse audience of researchers. The report of HotSWUp'08 is available at

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


The workshop's proceedings are available in the ACM Digital Library.

Submission Guidelines

We solicit position papers on software upgrades. Preferably, submissions should fall into one of the following categories:

All papers must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, at Submissions must not exceed 5 pages, in the ACM SIGPLAN 10 point format. Templates for Word and LaTeX are available at The workshop proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library.

Important Dates

Submission deadline 4 September 2009 8 September 2009
Acceptance notification 4 October 2009
Camera-ready deadline 16 October 2009
Workshop day 25 October 2009


Program Co-Chairs

Tudor Dumitraş, Carnegie Mellon University (main contact)
Iulian Neamtiu, University of California, Riverside
Eli Tilevich, Virginia Tech

Program Committee

Sameer Ajmani, Google, USA
Gustavo Alonso, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Taweesup Apiwattanapong, National Electronics and Computer Technology Center, Thailand
Umesh Bellur, IIT Bombay, India
Gavin Bierman, Microsoft Research, UK
Dilma da Silva, IBM Research, USA
Danny Dig, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Manuel Oriol, University of York, UK
Jason Nieh, Columbia University, USA
Mark E. Segal, Laboratory for Telecommunication Sciences, USA
Peter Sewell, Cambridge University, UK
Liuba Shrira, Brandeis University, USA

Original Call for Papers

Printable call for papers: [PDF]

Please send comments or suggestions to Tudor Dumitraş. Last updated: .