First ACM Workshop on
Hot Topics in Software Upgrades (HotSWUp)

Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN
Held in conjunction with OOPSLA 2008

Nashville, Tennessee
20 October 2008



The goal of HotSWUp is to identify cutting-edge research ideas for implementing software upgrades. Actively-used software is upgraded regularly to incorporate bug fixes and security patches or to keep up with the evolving requirements. Whether upgrades are applied offline or online, they significantly impact the software's performance and reliability. Recently-introduced commercial products aim to address various aspects of this problem, e.g., programing language/framework/middleware support for online upgrade, large-scale dissemination of fine-grained updates, live data migration in storage-area networks. However, recent studies and a large body of anecdotal evidence suggest that, in practice, upgrades remain failure-prone, tedious, and expensive.

HotSWUp is an inter-disciplinary workshop, based on synergies among the domains of programming languages (e.g., as reflected at conferences such as OOPSLA or PLDI), software engineering (e.g., as reflected at ICSE or FSE) and systems (e.g., as reflected at SOSP or OSDI). By seeking contributions from both academic researchers and industry practitioners, HotSWUp aims to combine bold, novel ideas, with experience from upgrading real systems.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


The workshop's proceedings are available in the ACM Digital Library.

Submission Guidelines

We solicit position papers on software upgrades. Preferably, submissions should fall into one of the following categories:

All papers must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, at Submissions must not exceed 5 pages, in the ACM SIGPLAN 10 point format. Templates for Word and LaTeX are available at The workshop proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library.

Important Dates

Submission deadline 28 July 2008
Acceptance notification 7 September 2008
Camera-ready deadline 5 October 2008
Workshop day 19 October 2008 20 October 2008


Program Co-Chairs

Tudor Dumitraş, Carnegie Mellon University (main contact)
Danny Dig, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Iulian Neamtiu, University of California, Riverside

Program Committee

Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers University, USA
Gavin Bierman, Microsoft Research, UK
Dilma da Silva, IBM Research, USA
Stéphane Ducasse, INRIA, France
Michael Ernst, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Ralph Johnson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Priya Narasimhan, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Manuel Oriol, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Mark E. Segal, Laboratory for Telecommunication Sciences, USA
Peter Sewell, Cambridge University, UK
Robert Wisniewski, IBM Research, USA

Original Call for Papers

Printable call for papers: [PDF]

Please send comments or suggestions to Tudor Dumitraş. Last updated: .