SCS
Student
Seminar
Series

go to the list of abstracts
abstracts

go to the list of previous talks
previous talks

go to the list of other SCS seminars
scs seminars

go to the SCS home page
SCS

go to the CMU home page
CMU

     

The Next Talk Fa'18 Talks General Info Speaking Req't

Workload Analysis and Caching Strategies for Search Advertising Systems

Friday, November 16th, 2018 from 12-1 pm in GHC 8102.

Conglong Li, CSD

To maximize profit and connect users to relevant products and services, search advertising systems use sophisticated machine learning algorithms to estimate the revenue expectations of thousands of matching ad listings per query. These machine learning computations constitute a substantial part of the operating cost, e.g., 10% to 30% of the total gross revenues. It is desirable to cache and reuse previous computation results to reduce this cost, but caching introduces approximation which comes with potential revenue loss. To maximize cost savings while minimizing the overall revenue impact, an intelligent refresh policy is required to decide when to refresh the cached computation results.

Our workload analysis and cache simulations show that caching is preferable yet challenging for search advertising systems. In this talk, I present two different caching designs: one uses heuristics and one uses fast machine learning algorithm to build the caching strategies. Evaluation shows that a traditional cache design reduces the total computation cost the most, but also introduces huge negative revenue and net profit impact. On the other hand, our proposed cache designs minimize the negative revenue impact while keeping the amount of cost savings, and improves the total net profit.

Based on joint work with David G. Andersen, Qiang Fu (Microsoft), Sameh Elnikety (Microsoft Research), and Yuxiong He (Microsoft Research).

In Partial Fulfillment of the Speaking Requirement


Fall 2018 Schedule
Mon, Aug 27 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Aug 31 GHC 8102 Hongyang Zhang New Paradigms and Global Optimality in Non-Convex Optimization
Mon, Sep 3 GHC 6501 Labor Day Holiday UNAVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 7 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 10 GHC 7101 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 14 GHC 8115 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 17 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 21 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Sep 24 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Sep 28 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 1 GHC 8102 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 5 GHC 8115 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 8 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 12 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 15 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 19 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 22 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Oct 26 GHC 8102 AVAILABLE
Mon, Oct 29 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 2 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 5 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 9 NSH 3002 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 12 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 16 GHC 8102 Conglong Li Workload Analysis and Caching Strategies for Search Advertising Systems
Mon, Nov 19 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 23 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Nov 26 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Nov 30 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Dec 3 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Dec 7 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Dec 10 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Fri, Dec 14 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, Dec 17 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE


General Info

The Student Seminar Series is an informal research seminar by and for SCS graduate students from noon to 1 pm on Tuesdays and Fridays. Lunch is provided by the Computer Science Department (personal thanks to Sharon Burks and Debbie Cavlovich!). At each meeting, a different student speaker will give an informal, 40-minute talk about his/her research, followed by questions/suggestions/brainstorming. We try to attract people with a diverse set of interests, and encourage speakers to present at a very general, accessible level.

So why are we doing this and why take part? In the best case scenario, this will lead to some interesting cross-disciplinary work among people in different fields and people may get some new ideas about their research. In the worst case scenario, a few people will practice their public speaking and the rest get together for a free lunch.


Guideline & Speaking Requirement Need-to-Know

Note: Step #1 below are applicable to all SSS speakers. You can schedule AT MOST THREE talks per semester.

SSS is an ideal forum for SCS students to give presentations that count toward fulfilling their speaking requirements. The specifics, though, vary with each department. For instance, students in CSD will need to be familiar with the notes in Section 8 of the Ph.D. document and follow the instructions outlined on the Speakers Club homepage. Roughly speaking, these are the steps:

  1. Schedule a talk with SSS by sending your talk title, abstract, additional info (like "Joint work with..." or "In Partial Fulfillment of the Speaking Requirement"), and a picture of yourself (preferably jpeg) to sss@cs at least TWO WEEKS before your scheduled talk.
  2. After you are confirmed with your SSS slot, go to the Speakers Club Calendar and schedule your talk at least THREE WEEKS in advance of the talk date.
  3. On the day of your talk, make sure you print Speakers Club evaluation forms for your evaluators to use.
Students outside of CSD will need to check with their respective departments regarding the procedure. As another example, ISRI students fulfill their speaking requirements by attending a semesterly Software Research Seminar and giving X number of presentations per school year. If you have experience with your department that might help others in your department, please feel free to contribute your knowledge by emailing us. Thank you!


SSS Coordinators

Armaghan Naik, Computational Biology
Lin Xiao, CSD
Qing Zheng, CSD

 


Web contact: sss+www@cs