SCS
Student
Seminar
Series

go to the list of abstracts
abstracts

go to the list of previous talks
previous talks

go to the list of other SCS seminars
scs seminars

go to the SCS home page
SCS

go to the CMU home page
CMU

     

The Next Talk Sp'17 Talks General Info Speaking Req't


Spring 2017 Schedule
Mon, Jan 16 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Jan 20 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Jan 23 GHC 7501 Expired
Fri, Jan 27 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Jan 30 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 3 GHC 6501 Mu Li MXNet: Flexible Deep Learning Framework from Distributed GPU Clouds to Embedded Systems
Mon, Feb 6 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 10 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Feb 13 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 17 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Feb 20 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Feb 24 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Feb 27 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 3 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Mar 6 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 10 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Mar 13 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 17 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Mar 20 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 24 GHC 6501 Neil Shah FLOCK: Combating Astroturfing on Livestreaming Platforms
Mon, Mar 27 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Mar 31 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Apr 3 GHC 6501 Reserved UNAVAILABLE
Fri, Apr 7 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Apr 10 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 14 GHC 6501 Expired
Mon, Apr 17 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 21 GHC 6501 Reserved UNAVAILABLE
Mon, Apr 24 GHC 6501 Expired
Fri, Apr 28 GHC 4405 Reserved UNAVAILABLE
Mon, May 1 GHC 8115 AVAILABLE
Fri, May 5 GHC 6501 AVAILABLE
Mon, May 8 GHC 6501 Reserved UNAVAILABLE


General Info

The Student Seminar Series is an informal research seminar by and for SCS graduate students from noon to 1 pm on Tuesdays and Fridays. Lunch is provided by the Computer Science Department (personal thanks to Sharon Burks and Debbie Cavlovich!). At each meeting, a different student speaker will give an informal, 40-minute talk about his/her research, followed by questions/suggestions/brainstorming. We try to attract people with a diverse set of interests, and encourage speakers to present at a very general, accessible level.

So why are we doing this and why take part? In the best case scenario, this will lead to some interesting cross-disciplinary work among people in different fields and people may get some new ideas about their research. In the worst case scenario, a few people will practice their public speaking and the rest get together for a free lunch.


Guideline & Speaking Requirement Need-to-Know

Note: Step #1 below are applicable to all SSS speakers. You can schedule AT MOST THREE talks per semester.

SSS is an ideal forum for SCS students to give presentations that count toward fulfilling their speaking requirements. The specifics, though, vary with each department. For instance, students in CSD will need to be familiar with the notes in Section 8 of the Ph.D. document and follow the instructions outlined on the Speakers Club homepage. Roughly speaking, these are the steps:

  1. Schedule a talk with SSS by sending your talk title, abstract, additional info (like "Joint work with..." or "In Partial Fulfillment of the Speaking Requirement"), and a picture of yourself (preferably jpeg) to sss@cs at least TWO WEEKS before your scheduled talk.
  2. After you are confirmed with your SSS slot, go to the Speakers Club Calendar and schedule your talk at least THREE WEEKS in advance of the talk date.
  3. On the day of your talk, make sure you print Speakers Club evaluation forms for your evaluators to use.
Students outside of CSD will need to check with their respective departments regarding the procedure. As another example, ISRI students fulfill their speaking requirements by attending a semesterly Software Research Seminar and giving X number of presentations per school year. If you have experience with your department that might help others in your department, please feel free to contribute your knowledge by emailing us. Thank you!


SSS Coordinators

Armaghan Naik, Computational Biology
Lin Xiao, CSD
Qing Zheng, CSD

 


Web contact: sss+www@cs