SCS
Student
Seminar
Series

go to the list of abstracts
abstracts

go to the list of previous talks
previous talks

go to the list of other SCS seminars
scs seminars

go to the SCS home page
SCS

go to the CMU home page
CMU

     

The Next Talk Sp'14 Talks General Info Speaking Req't

Assessing the Global Cyber and Bio Threat

Tuesday, April 8th, 2014 from 12-1 pm in GHC 4303.

Ghita Mezzour, ECE & ISR

Cyber-attacks are an international problem in today’s inter-connected world. Cyber threat from any country is a threat and concern to everyone. Identifying the most threatening countries is an important step towards reducing the global cyber threat. Two types of countries pose great cyber security threat. The first type of countries offers favorable conditions to hosting cyber-criminal infrastructure. In the second type of countries, governments develop cyber warfare capabilities. These governments are even more threatening if they also have a weapon of mass destruction capability such as a bioweapon capability.

In this work, I identify countries that extensively host cyber-criminal infrastructure, and reasons why these countries are attractive for hosting such infrastructure. In my analysis, I use Symantec WINE data which consist of attack reports from more than 10 million Symantec customer computers worldwide. I also present a methodology for assessing countries' cyberwarfare and bioweapon capabilities. My methodology assesses both countries' motivations and latent abilities. In my assessment, I use socio-political data, and measures of countries' cyber and bio expertise and infrastructure.


Spring 2014 Schedule
Tue, Jan 21 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Jan 24 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Jan 28 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Jan 31 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Feb 4 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Feb 7 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Feb 11 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Feb 14 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Feb 18 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Feb 21 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Feb 25 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Feb 28 GHC 4303 Expired
Tue, Mar 4 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Mar 7 GHC 4303 Yuan Zhou Understanding the Power of Convex Relaxation Hierarchies: Effectiveness and Limitations
Tue, Mar 11 GHC 4303 Spring Break By request only
Fri, Mar 14 GHC 4303 Spring Break By request only
Tue, Mar 18 GHC 4303 Expired
Fri, Mar 21 GHC 4303 Kuen-Bang Hou (Favonia) Logic Programming with Temporality, Names and List Comprehension
Tue, Mar 25 GHC 4303 Salil Joshi Separation Logic with Heap Predicates
Fri, Mar 28 GHC 4303 Seunghak Lee Detecting associations between genetic variants and output traits using prior biological knowledge
Tue, Apr 1 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Fri, Apr 4 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, Apr 8 GHC 4303 Ghita Mezzour Assessing the Global Cyber and Bio Threat
Fri, Apr 11 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, Apr 15 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Fri, Apr 18 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, Apr 22 GHC 4303 Arbob Ahmad Reasoning about Declassification in Epistemic Logic
Fri, Apr 25 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, Apr 29 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Fri, May 2 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, May 6 GHC 4303 Seunghak Lee Scheduling and Partitioning Big Models for Parallel Machine Learning
Fri, May 9 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE
Tue, May 13 GHC 4303 AVAILABLE


General Info

The Student Seminar Series is an informal research seminar by and for SCS graduate students from noon to 1 pm on Tuesdays and Fridays. Lunch is provided by the Computer Science Department (personal thanks to Sharon Burks and Debbie Cavlovich!). At each meeting, a different student speaker will give an informal, 40-minute talk about his/her research, followed by questions/suggestions/brainstorming. We try to attract people with a diverse set of interests, and encourage speakers to present at a very general, accessible level.

So why are we doing this and why take part? In the best case scenario, this will lead to some interesting cross-disciplinary work among people in different fields and people may get some new ideas about their research. In the worst case scenario, a few people will practice their public speaking and the rest get together for a free lunch.


Guideline & Speaking Requirement Need-to-Know

Note: Step #1 below are applicable to all SSS speakers. You can schedule AT MOST THREE talks per semester.

SSS is an ideal forum for SCS students to give presentations that count toward fulfilling their speaking requirements. The specifics, though, vary with each department. For instance, students in CSD will need to be familiar with the notes in Section 8 of the Ph.D. document and follow the instructions outlined on the Speakers Club homepage. Roughly speaking, these are the steps:

  1. Schedule a talk with SSS by sending your talk title, abstract, additional info (like "Joint work with..." or "In Partial Fulfillment of the Speaking Requirement"), and a picture of yourself (preferably jpeg) to sss@cs at least TWO WEEKS before your scheduled talk.
  2. After you are confirmed with your SSS slot, go to the Speakers Club Calendar and schedule your talk at least THREE WEEKS in advance of the talk date.
  3. On the day of your talk, make sure you print Speakers Club evaluation forms for your evaluators to use.
Students outside of CSD will need to check with their respective departments regarding the procedure. As another example, ISRI students fulfill their speaking requirements by attending a semesterly Software Research Seminar and giving X number of presentations per school year. If you have experience with your department that might help others in your department, please feel free to contribute your knowledge by emailing us. Thank you!


SSS Coordinators

Armaghan Naik, Computational Biology
Lin Xiao, CSD

 


Web contact: sss+www@cs