SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

SCS Faculty: The Gödel Prize
--The G ödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science is sponsored jointly by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and the Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM-SIGACT). The Prize is named in honor of Kurt Gödel in recognition of his major contributions to mathematical logic and of his interest, discovered in a letter he wrote to John von Neumann shortly before Neumann's death, in what has become the famous "P versus NP" question. The Prize, which includes an award of $5,000, is presented annually.

  • Shang-Hua Teng, 2008 (CS Ph.D. 1991) (with Daniel A. Spielman)
    For their development of "Smoothed Analysis"

  • Steven Rudich, 2007 (with Alexander Razborov)
    For their paper, "Natural Proofs"
    Journal of Computer and Systems Sciences, Vol. 55, No. 1, 1997.

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science