Assistant Research Professor in the Robotics Institute, School of Computer Science;
Courtesy Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department;
Director of the Master of Science Computer Vision (MSCV) Program
Carnegie Mellon University

Cooperative Research Fellow in the Institute of Industrial Science at the
University of Tokyo

Research Interests: computer vision, human activity forecasting, first-person vision, inverse reinforcement learning, deep learning, assistive technologies for the blind
Hiring Now:
(March 2018) Looking for two postdocs to work on projects at the intersection of computer vision (pedestrian/object detection) and human-robot interaction (HRI) to assist blind people. Please contact me directly with your CV.
(March 2018) Looking for a part-time computer vision and iOS sofware engineer for a Pittsburgh startup. Experience with deep learning, state estimation and ROS is required.

Short Bio
Assistant Research Professor at CMU (current)
Systems Scientist at CMU (2013-2016)
Postdoctoral Research Fellow at CMU with Martial Hebert and Drew Bagnell (2011-2013)
Jyokyo (Research Associate / Assistant Professor) at UEC Tokyo (2008-2011)
Visiting scholar at UCSD with Serge Belongie (2010)
University of Tokyo (MS 2005, PhD 2008)
Engineer at KLA-Tencor (2000-2003)
University of Southern California (BS, Electrical Engineering 2000)


Research Projects