Announcements

Homeworks

Class Topics/Handouts

  • Wed, Sept 6th, Chpt1: Motivating Examples on Queueing Theory
  • Friday, Sept 8th, Recitation -- Going over Probability Assessment
  • Mon, Sept 11th, Chpt2: Queueing Theory Notation/Vocabulary Open/Closed Paper from NSDI 2006
  • Wed, Sept 13th, Chpt5: Convergence of Random Variables and Time Average versus Ensemble Average
  • Friday, Sept 15th, Recitation -- Chpt 4: Generating R.V.s for Simulation
  • Mon, Sept 18th, Chpt6: Operational Laws (Little's Law) Worksheet
  • Wed, Sept 20th, Chpt7: Modification Analysis Worksheet
  • Mon, Sept 25th, Chpt8: Discrete-time Markov Chains Worksheet
  • Wed, Sept 27th, Chpt9: Ergodicity - Finite-state DTMCs
  • Mon, Oct 2, Chpt9: Ergodicity - Infinite-state DTMCs
  • Wed, Oct 4, Chpt9,10: Alternative Interpretations of Limiting Probabilities.
  • Mon, Oct 9, Chpt 11: Exponential Distribution and Poisson Process
  • Wed, Oct 11, Chpt 12: Conversion to Continuous-time Markov Chains
  • Mon, Oct 16, Chpt 13: M/M/1 and PASTA
  • Wed, Oct 18, Chpt 14: M/M/k Worksheet
  • Mon, Oct 23, Chpt 15: Capacity Provisioning + Open Problems in Markov Chains
  • Wed, Oct 25 -- NO CLASS --
  • Thur, Oct 26 -- MIDTERM AT 6:30 p.m. --
  • Mon, Oct 30, Chpt 16: Time-Reversibility and Burke's Theorem Worksheet
  • Wed, Nov 1, Chpt 17: Jackson Networks of Queues Worksheet
  • Mon, Nov 6, Chpt 20/21: Real-world Distributions Worksheet
  • Wed, Nov 8, Chpt 23: M/G/1
  • Mon, Nov 13, Chpt 24: Task Assignment in Server Farms Worksheet . Also starting Chpt 26: M/G/1 Transform Worksheet .
  • Wed, Nov 15, Chpt 26: M/G/1 Transform Derivation, plus Chpt 27: M/G/1/setup Worksheet .
  • Mon, Nov 20, Chpt 27,28,29: Busy Periods + Scheduling I Worksheet1 and Worksheet2 .
  • Wed, Nov 22, NO CLASS -- Happy Thanksgiving
  • Mon, Nov 27, Chpt 30: Scheduling II
  • Wed, Nov 29, Chpt 31: Scheduling III
  • Mon, Dec 4, Chpt 32: Scheduling IV Worksheet .
  • Mon, Dec 6, Chpt 33: Scheduling V