15-462 Computer Graphics I

  • Lectures are Tuesday and Thursday, 10:30-11:50, Wean Hall 7500.
  • The textbook provides additional reading material.
    It complements, but does not replace the lecture.
  • The schedule is subject to change throughout the semester.
  • Default links are color slides in PDF format.
  • 6up and 2up PDF files are grayscale for and printing.
  • The HTML lecture files may not show mathematical symbols correctly.
Date Lecture    Reading    Slides    Code    Assignment Due

Tue Jan 15 Course Overview Ch. 1 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Jan 17 Basic Graphics Programming Ch. 2 6up 2up HTML 02-code/  

Tue Jan 22 Interaction Ch. 3 6up 2up HTML 03-code/  
Thu Jan 24 Transformations Ch. 4 6up 2up HTML    

Tue Jan 29 Guest Lecture            
Thu Jan 31 Viewing and Projection Ch. 5.2-5.4 6up 2up HTML   Assignment 1

Tue Feb 5 Hierarchical Modeling Ch 5.9, 8.1-8.6 6up 2up HTML 06-code/  
Thu Feb 7 Guest Lecture           Assignment 2

Tue Feb 12 Lighting and Shading Ch 6.1-6.4 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Feb 14 Shading in OpenGL Ch 6.5-6.9 6up 2up HTML 08-code/  

Tue Feb 19 Curves and Surfaces Ch 10.1-10.6 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Feb 21 Splines Ch 10.7-10.14 6up 2up HTML 10-code/ Assignment 3

Tue Feb 26 Midterm Review   6up 2up HTML    
Thu Feb 28 Guest Lecture visible.ppt         Assignment 4

Tue Mar 5 Midterm Exam Sample Solution          
Thu Mar 7 No Classes (Mid-Semester Break)            

Tue Mar 12 Physically-Based Modeling Ch 11.1-11.5 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Mar 14 Texture Mapping [by S. Sarkar] Ch 9.2 6up 2up HTML 13-code/  

Tue Mar 19 Clipping and Scan Conversion Ch 7.3-7.6, 7.8-7.9 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Mar 21 Rasterization Ch 7.10-7.11, 9.7-9.8 6up 2up HTML   Assignment 5

Tue Mar 26 Ray Tracing Ch 6.10.1, Ray Tracing Ch 1-2 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Mar 28 Spatial Data Structures Ch 8.9, Ray Tracing Ch 6 6up 2up HTML   Assignment 6

Tue Apr 2 No Classes (Spring Break)            
Thu Apr 4 No Classes (Spring Break)            

Tue Apr 9 Radiosity Watt & Watt Ch 11 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Apr 11 Global Illumination Watt & Watt Ch 12 6up 2up HTML    

Tue Apr 16 Guest Lecture          
Thu Apr 18 Image Processing   6up 2up HTML 20-pics/  

Tue Apr 23 Visualization Ch 12 6up 2up HTML    
Thu Apr 25 Non-Photorealistic Rendering   6up 2up HTML   Assignment 7

Tue Apr 30 Guest Lecture            
Thu May 2 Final Review   6up 2up HTML   Assignment 8

Mon May 6 Final Exam        

[ Home | Schedule | Assignments | Software | Resources ]

Frank Pfenning