Welcome to the home of the Electronic Marketplaces Lab (EM). We're part of Carnegie Mellon's Computer Science Department.

Broadly speaking, we study how computers impact traditional game theory. In practice, this involves everything from large-scale equilibrium computation to automated negotiation to the design of new economic structures like markets.

For more on our research, please visit our individual home pages.

Team members

Tuomas Sandholm - Professor, Founder and Director

Dr. Fei Peng - Research Associate

Noam Brown - PhD Student

John Dickerson - PhD Student

Sam Ganzfried - PhD Student

Christian Kroer - PhD Student

Dr. Kimmo Berg - Postdoctoral Fellow

Marco Rocco - Visitor

Prof. Tri-Dung Nguyen - Visitor


Graduated PhD students

Abe Othman (2012) - Co-Founder, stealth startup in the Bay area

Michael Benisch (2011) - Director of AI, Rocket Fuel

Andrew Gilpin (2009) - Director, Princeton-based hedge fund

Vince Conitzer (2006) - Sally Dalton Robinson Professor of Computer Science and Professor of Economics, Duke University

Kate Larson (2004) - Associate Professor, University of Waterloo


Former postdocs and research associates

Noam Goldberg (2013) - Lecturer at Bar-Ilan University

Pingzhong Tang (2010-12) - Assistant Professor of computer science in Yao's class at Tsinghua University

Felix Brandt (2003-04) - Heisenberg Professor, Technical University of Munich

Alexander Nareyek (2003) - Assistant Professor, National University of Singapore

Paolo Santi (2003) - Senior Researcher, Institute of Informatics and Telematics of the National Research Council


Former sabbatical visitors

Craig Boutilier (2008-09) - Professor, Computer Science Department, University of Toronto

Dov Monderer (1999-2000) - Luxenberg Chair Professor, William Davidson Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

Sviatoslav Braynov (1998-2000) - Associate Professor, Computer Science Department, University of Illinois at Springfield

Fernando Tohmé (1996-2000) - Professor, Universidad Nacional del Sur, Departamento de Economía, Bahia Blanca, Argentina


Graduated MS and BS students (mainly when the lab was at Washington University)

Kevin Su (MS 2013)

Zhijian Lim (BS 2004)

Kate Larson (MS 1999)

Martin Andersson (MS 1999)

Qianbo Huai (MS 1999)

Vincent Ferrandon (MS 1999)

John Olsen (MS 1999)


Former short-term visitors

Troels Bjerre Sorensen (7/2006-12/2006)

Prof. Rudolf Müller (9/2005)

Prof. Makoto Yokoo (10/2001)