It is often observed that the complexity of cyber-physical systems needs to be dealt with at the architectural level. Architecture has typically referred to the cyber elements of a system, e.g., it software architecture or processor architectures. The purpose of this workshop is to explore concepts and tools for comprehensive architectural frameworks that include the physical as well as the cyber elements of cyber-physical systems. Such CPS Architectures will support the complete development process, including the evaluation of interactions and design tradeoffs across the cyber-physical boundaries.

Full papers are solicited describing current research on architectures for cyber-physical systems. Briefer position papers identifying directions for future research and development are also solicited.

Topics of Interest

Instructions for Authors

Two types of contributions are solicited: (i) full papers describing existing tools, methods and applications of architectures for CPS; and (ii) brief position papers on needs and research directions for the future. In keeping with the goal of bringing together people interested in exchanging ideas about the state of the research and the potential role of architectures for CPS, papers of type (i) can summarize previously published work.

All papers conform to the IEEE Proceedings format. Full papers should be no more than 8 pages; position papers should be no more than 4 pages. Please indicate the name, affiliations and email addresses of all authors below the paper title.

Paper can be submitted here.

Accepted papers will be made available publically on the workshop website. Authors will retain the copyrights to their papers.

Important dates

February 21-Deadline for submission of draft papers
March 4-Authors notified
April 4-Final papers due


Bruce H. Krogh,Carnegie Mellon University email:
David Garlan,Carnegie Mellon University  email:

Technical program committee

Karl-Erik Arzen, Lund University  Stefan Kowalewski, RWTH Aachen University
Albert Benveniste, IRISA/INRIA  P.R. Kumar, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Ken Butts, Toyota  Edward Lee, University of California at Berkeley
Shang-Wen (Owen) Cheng, NASA  William Milan, Ford
Peter Feiler, Software Engineering Institute  Andre Platzer, Carnegie Mellon University
Steve Goddard, University of Nebraska   Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University