Next: Boycott Prev: Copying Up: Top

Contributors to GNU CC

   In addition to Richard Stallman, several people have written parts
of GNU CC.

   * The idea of using RTL and some of the optimization ideas came from
     the program PO written at the University of Arizona by Jack
     Davidson and Christopher Fraser.  See "Register Allocation and
     Exhaustive Peephole Optimization", Software Practice and
     Experience 14 (9), Sept. 1984, 857-866.

   * Paul Rubin wrote most of the preprocessor.

   * Leonard Tower wrote parts of the parser, RTL generator, and RTL
     definitions, and of the Vax machine description.

   * Ted Lemon wrote parts of the RTL reader and printer.

   * Jim Wilson implemented loop strength reduction and some other loop

   * Nobuyuki Hikichi of Software Research Associates, Tokyo,
     contributed the support for the Sony NEWS machine.

   * Charles LaBrec contributed the support for the Integrated Solutions
     68020 system.

   * Michael Tiemann of Cygnus Support wrote the front end for C++, as
     well as the support for inline functions and instruction
     scheduling.  Also the descriptions of the National Semiconductor
     32000 series cpu, the SPARC cpu and part of the Motorola 88000 cpu.

   * Jan Stein of the Chalmers Computer Society provided support for
     Genix, as well as part of the 32000 machine description.

   * Randy Smith finished the Sun FPA support.

   * Robert Brown implemented the support for Encore 32000 systems.

   * David Kashtan of SRI adapted GNU CC to the Vomit-Making System

   * Alex Crain provided changes for the 3b1.

   * Greg Satz and Chris Hanson assisted in making GNU CC work on HP-UX
     for the 9000 series 300.

   * William Schelter did most of the work on the Intel 80386 support.

   * Christopher Smith did the port for Convex machines.

   * Paul Petersen wrote the machine description for the Alliant FX/8.

   * Alain Lichnewsky ported GNU CC to the Mips cpu.

   * Devon Bowen, Dale Wiles and Kevin Zachmann ported GNU CC to the

   * Jonathan Stone wrote the machine description for the Pyramid

   * Gary Miller ported GNU CC to Charles River Data Systems machines.

   * Richard Kenner of the New York University Ultracomputer Research
     Laboratory wrote the machine descriptions for the AMD 29000, the
     DEC Alpha, the IBM RT PC, and the IBM RS/6000 as well as the
     support for instruction attributes.  He also made changes to
     better support RISC processors including changes to common
     subexpression elimination, strength reduction, function calling
     sequence handling, and condition code support, in addition to
     generalizing the code for frame pointer elimination.

   * Richard Kenner and Michael Tiemann jointly developed reorg.c, the
     delay slot scheduler.

   * Mike Meissner and Tom Wood of Data General finished the port to the
     Motorola 88000.

   * Masanobu Yuhara of Fujitsu Laboratories implemented the machine
     description for the Tron architecture (specifically, the Gmicro).

   * NeXT, Inc. donated the front end that supports the Objective C

   * James van Artsdalen wrote the code that makes efficient use of the
     Intel 80387 register stack.

   * Mike Meissner at the Open Software Foundation finished the port to
     the MIPS cpu, including adding ECOFF debug support.

   * Ron Guilmette implemented the `protoize' and `unprotoize' tools,
     the support for Dwarf symbolic debugging information, and much of
     the support for System V Release 4.  He has also worked heavily on
     the Intel 386 and 860 support.

   * Torbjorn Granlund of the Swedish Institute of Computer Science
     implemented multiply-by-constant optimization and better long long
     support, and improved leaf function register allocation.

   * Mike Stump implemented the support for Elxsi 64 bit CPU.

   * John Wehle added the machine description for the Western Electric
     32000 processor used in several 3b series machines (no relation to
     the National Semiconductor 32000 processor).

   * Holger Teutsch provided the support for the Clipper cpu.

   * Kresten Krab Thorup wrote the run time support for the Objective C

   * Stephen Moshier contributed the floating point emulator that
     assists in cross-compilation and permits support for floating
     point numbers wider than 64 bits.

   * David Edelsohn contributed the changes to RS/6000 port to make it
     support the PowerPC and POWER2 architectures.

   * Steve Chamberlain wrote the support for the Hitachi SH processor.

   * Peter Schauer wrote the code to allow debugging to work on the

automatically generated by info2www