(emacs)Rmail Deletion


Next: Rmail Inbox Prev: Rmail Motion Up: Rmail

Deleting Messages
=================

   When you no longer need to keep a message, you can "delete" it.  This
flags it as ignorable, and some Rmail commands pretend it is no longer
present; but it still has its place in the Rmail file, and still has its
message number.

   "Expunging" the Rmail file actually removes the deleted messages.
The remaining messages are renumbered consecutively.  Expunging is the
only action that changes the message number of any message, except for
undigestifying (Note: Rmail Digest.).

`d'
     Delete the current message, and move to the next nondeleted message
     (`rmail-delete-forward').

`C-d'
     Delete the current message, and move to the previous nondeleted
     message (`rmail-delete-backward').

`u'
     Undelete the current message, or move back to a deleted message and
     undelete it (`rmail-undelete-previous-message').

`x'
     Expunge the Rmail file (`rmail-expunge').

   There are two Rmail commands for deleting messages.  Both delete the
current message and select another message.  `d'
(`rmail-delete-forward') moves to the following message, skipping
messages already deleted, while `C-d' (`rmail-delete-backward') moves
to the previous nondeleted message.  If there is no nondeleted message
to move to in the specified direction, the message that was just
deleted remains current.

   To make all the deleted messages finally vanish from the Rmail file,
type `x' (`rmail-expunge').  Until you do this, you can still
"undelete" the deleted messages.

   To undelete, type `u' (`rmail-undelete-previous-message'), which is
designed to cancel the effect of a `d' command (usually).  It undeletes
the current message if the current message is deleted.  Otherwise it
moves backward to previous messages until a deleted message is found,
and undeletes that message.

   You can usually undo a `d' with a `u' because the `u' moves back to
and undeletes the message that the `d' deleted.  But this does not work
when the `d' skips a few already-deleted messages that follow the
message being deleted; then the `u' command undeletes the last of the
messages that were skipped.  There is no clean way to avoid this
problem.  However, by repeating the `u' command, you can eventually get
back to the message that you intend to undelete.  You can also select a
particular deleted message with `M-p' command, then type `u' to
undelete it.

   A deleted message has the `deleted' attribute, and as a result
`deleted' appears in the mode line when the current message is deleted.
In fact, deleting or undeleting a message is nothing more than adding
or removing this attribute.  Note: Rmail Labels.


automatically generated by info2www