(emacs)Killing


Next: Yanking Prev: Mark Up: Top

Deletion and Killing
====================

   Most commands which erase text from the buffer save it in the kill
ring so that you can move or copy it to other parts of the buffer.
These commands are known as "kill" commands.  The rest of the commands
that erase text do not save it in the kill ring; they are known as
"delete" commands.  (This distinction is made only for erasure of text
in the buffer.)  If you do a kill or delete command by mistake, you can
use the `C-x u' (`undo') command to undo it (Note: Undo.).

   The delete commands include `C-d' (`delete-char') and DEL
(`delete-backward-char'), which delete only one character at a time,
and those commands that delete only spaces or newlines.  Commands that
can destroy significant amounts of nontrivial data generally kill.  The
commands' names and individual descriptions use the words `kill' and
`delete' to say which they do.

   You can use kill commands in read-only buffers.  They don't actually
change the buffer, and they beep to warn you of that, but they do copy
the text you tried to kill into the kill ring, so you can yank it into
other buffers.

* Deletion
Commands for deleting small amounts of text and blank areas.
* Killing by Lines
How to kill entire lines of text at one time.
* Other Kill Commands
Commands to kill large regions of text and syntactic units such as words and sentences.

automatically generated by info2www