Carnegie Mellon University - School of Computer Science


SCS Alumni Advisory Board (AAB)

The School of Computer Science Alumni Advisory Board (AAB) was created in 2001 to provide feedback and assistance to the director of alumni relations and dean regarding school initiatives and help strengthen the computer science alumni network.

The goals of the AAB are to Inform and involve computer science alumni and other key constituencies, to increase awareness of the School of Computer Science's academic and research initiatives, to build and foster mutually beneficial relationships between alumni and current students, to foster an engaged, active alumni community and to develop mutually beneficial programs and services for alumni in order to help to support, facilitate and advance the mission of the School and contribute to the advancement of the University.

Board Members

  • Josh Baer (CS'99), Founder and CEO, OtherInBox
  • Jonathan T. Betz (CS'99), Engineering Manager,
  • Philip L. Bronner (CS'92), General Partner, Novak Biddle Venture Partners
  • Eric A. Daimler (HS'94,CS'10), Founding Partner, Hg Analytics, LLC
  • Dr. M. Bernardine Dias (CS'00,'04), Associate Research Professor, Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Kevin J. Dowling (S'83, CS'94,'97), Vice President of R&D, MC10
  • Andrew Dubois (CS'03), Project Manager, UBS
  • Jennifer Li Dubois (CS'04), Associate Director/Project Manager, UBS
  • Kayvon Fatahalian (CS'03), Assistant Professor, Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jonathan S. Goldick (S'88,E'89), Vice President and CTO of Software, Violin Memory
  • Sriram J. Gollapalli (CS'02,MISM'03), Chief Operating Officer, iLab Solutions
  • Dr. Ajay N. Jain (CS'91,'92), Professor, Cancer Research Institute,UCSF
  • Dr. Philip L. Lehman (CS'78,'84), Associate Dean of Strategic Planning, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Michael T. Livanos (CS'04), Associate, Barclays Capital
  • **Dr. Christopher M. Maeda (CS'92,'97), Founder, President and CEO, Brickstreet Software
  • Dr. Raúl Medina-Mora (CS'79,'82), Founder and CEO, Visión México
  • Dr. John A. Mount (CS'91,'95), Founder, Win-Vector LLC
  • David I. Murray (CS'06, A'06), Founder and CEO, GoalSponsors
  • Wil E. Paredes (CS'01, MET'01), Software Architect, Ooyala.
  • Boris Sofman (E'05, CS'05,'07,'10), Co-Founder, Anki, Inc.
  • Dr. David M. Steier (CS'86,'89), Director, Deloitte Consulting
  • Anita A. Taylor (CS'07), Senior Analyst, Strategic Partnerships, Vistaprint
  • Dr. Justin D. Weisz (CS'03,'07,'09), Research Staff Member, IBM Watson Research Center
  • **Andrew P. Widdowson (CS'05), Site Reliability Engineer, Google, Inc.
  • Monte Zweben (CS'85), Founder and Chairman, Splice Machine

The alumni advisory board meets twice a year. Other responsibilities include meeting with the Alumni Relations Director or Dean in follow up meetings, hosting an alumni event, participating in alumni relations initiatives, serving on subcommittees, and making an annual personal gift to support SCS.

Contact Us:

Tina M. Carr (HNZ'02)
Director of Alumni Relations
School of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University
Gates Center for Computer Science
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3890

tcarr @
phone: (412) 268-8919

Entertainment Technology CenterInstitute for Software Research, InternationalCenter for Automated Learning and DiscoveryHuman-Computer Interaction InstituteLanguage Technology InstituteRobotics InstituteComputer Science DepartmentSCS Divisions Carnegie Mellon UniversityCMU - School of Computer Science