SCS Student Awards
School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15213-3891
(412)268-8525 . (412)268-5576 (fax)

Allen Newell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research
--This award is presented annually by the School of Computer Science. Allen Newell had a long and rich scientific career that contributed to multiple subdisciplines in computer science. Still, each individual endeavor was pursued with a characteristic style that his colleagues, students, and friends recognized as essential to Allen. Because of the breadth of scope of Allen's contributions, this award recognizes undergraduate research in his scientific style rather than computer science research in a particular area. The criteria by which a research project is judged is predicated, foremost, on the belief that a good idea is not enough.

  • Jeremiah M. Blocki, 2009
    Direct Zero-Knowledge Proofs
    Research Summary

  • Henry D. DeYoung, 2008
    An Authorization Logic with Explicit Time
    Research Summary
    SCS Undergraduate Thesis

  • Alexander Grubb, 2007
    Autonomous Discovery of Landmark Objects
    Research Summary

  • Kanat Tangwongsan, 2006
    Active Data Structures and Applications to Dynamic and Kinetic Algorithms
    Research Summary

  • Jared Go, 2005
    Real-time Texture-Space Radiosity
    Research Summary

  • Warren A. Hunt, 2004
    A Fast Counting Data Compressing Algorithm
    Research Summary

  • Samir Sapra, 2003
    Logic Minimzation using SAT Checkers
    Research Summary

  • John White Heffner, 2002
    High Bandwidth TCP Queuing

  • Daniel Maynes-Aminzade, 2001
    Techniques for Interactive Audience Participation

  • Mark Ronald Plesko, 2000
    Towards Verification of a Proof-Carrying Code Architecture in a Linear Logical Framework

  • Patrick Francis Riley, 1999
    Classifying Adversarial Behaviors in a Dynamic Inaccessible
    Multi-Agent Environment

  • Kevin William Hamlen, 1998
    Proof-Carrying Code for x86 Architectures

  • Hongsuda Tangmunarunkit, 1997
    Network-Award Distributed Computing

  • Kevin Rathbun Walker, 1996
    User-Level TCP in a Flow Controlled ATM LAN

  • Daniel R. Richards, 1995
    Image Analysis for Automated Genotyping

  • C. Lawrence Zitnick, 1995
    Projective Stereo Vision

  • Sean J. Hallgren, 1994
    Linear Congruential Generators Over Elliptic Curves

  • Karl F. Crary, 1993
    Typing of a Practical Programming Language with Higher Kinds and Higher-Order Modules

  • Erik W. Selberg, 1993
    Stopping a Cheater: Secret Sharing with Dishonest Participation

Return to: SCS Faculty Awards
School of Computer Science Home Page